Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:46 p.m. - 2004-06-08
Miss Bunny gets menopausal
I delivered the piece yesterday! It's gone!! And Candy, the hospital's representative for art purchases, signed the sales agreement without even reading it!! And she said I should get a check within ten days!!!

Me so happy!!

I came home and called Bruce, who was profoundly relieved, and then I called Wendy, who sounded like she was going in ten different directions, then I emailed a buncha' people, and then I had a big glass of wine on an empty stomach and got so sick and drunk I had to lie down with Athena on my chest and Zesto sitting above my head and staring at me like a vulture.

And then I wrote all these corny things in my written journal about whether this was really a valid piece of art and what do I want to do with my art life anyway?

Don't worry, I won't inflict this on you!!

**************************

Today I'm back to my usual state of mind. Miss Bunny went to see Alvin this afternoon. For about two weeks now she has been peeing in odd places, and it seems she is becoming incontinent in her sleep. I was thinking maybe she was having kidney or bladder problems, but Alvin thinks it's a hormone issue.

Basically, she's going through rabbit menopause.

It's strange because she's been spayed for years, but evidently her hormones are changing now anyway. We may have to give her hormone replacement therapy.

It was a classically thrilling Miss Bunny experience trying to get a urine sample. I held her back feet while a vet tech held the front ones and Alvin tried to get some urine out with a syringe.

There was no urine to be had, despite that Miss Bunny had been drinking water all the way down.

We tried twice, then Alvin put her in a cage to wait her out while Bruce and I went to dinner. We gave her the herbs and veggies we'd brought in the hopes that some juicy food would help in the pee department.

When we got back, I went into the cage room to get her. There were two other rabbits there, one was a huge New Zealand. I so love New Zealands. I briefly wondered if anyone would notice if I walked out with a 14 pound white rabbit under my dress...

**********************

The Hillbilly Bunnies are getting pushy. I think they have figured out that Skinny-Human-Being-With-Red-Hair = Food Delivery Person. When I walk into the room now they come out of their baby slide (they have a baby slide as a kind of bunny jungle gym) and nuzzle at me for food.

I also discovered something disturbing about Feisty. He's a jumper.

As I was leaving the room after feeding them tonight, he made this amazing leap onto the top level of the slide. He didn't even bother using the ramp to climb up. He just jumped.

It's about two feet up. And he did it without breaking a sweat. This rabbit could be dangerous, especially after he's lost a couple more pounds. He'll be even more athletic!! Oh joy! He'll be on the kitchen counters!!

*******************

So it's bloody freakin' hot here. And it's going to be just as hot tomorrow, and I have to drive down to Birmingham again to help Wendy set up for the opening on Friday.

The car has barely any air conditioning. We're getting it fixed, but not till Thursday.

And not only that, but the tape player in the car is dying as well, and all we have been able to get on the radio is an oldies station.

So what does that mean? It means I'll be SWEATIN' TO THE OLDIES!!!! HAHAHAHAHA!!!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!