Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:23 a.m. - 2004-05-25
Pajama party.
I realise that when I'm happy and I'm busy I just don't write very much. I get overwhelmed and don't know where to start. This weekend was one of those happy, overwhelming times.

Patty, Allison and Wendy all came to visit, and I had such a blast. The whole weekend was amazing, and when they all left on Sunday I felt more relaxed than I have felt in ages. It felt like I'd been on a fabulous vacation, right here in my own home!

*********************

Patty was the first to arrive. She came to Huntspatch for a dance weekend at UAH, but she never got there! Instead, we wound up talking for literally the whole weekend. Talking and eating dinner and talking and eating breakfast and talking and eating nuts and talking and......

You get the idea.

It was great, because I very seldom ever get to really talk with Patty. Usually she's either giving me a massage, or I'm helping her with the bar at Bare Hands. Not great venues for a deep conversation.

I had forgotten how great it is to sit and gab for hours with someone you feel connected to. I completely lost track of time!

************************

Allison arrived mid-afternoon, her jewelry case in tow. We're doing a trade - I'm mending some of her clothes in exchange for some of the jewelry she makes.

Ooooh, it was fabulous. She had a whole case full of yummy stuff, all of which Patty and I oogled over. In the end I narrowed it down to two bracelets, earrings, and, in an unprecedented act of unselfishness on my part, a beaded glasses holder for my very nearsighted sister.

******************

Allsion made dinner. That's right, she was the guest and yet she made dinner! I couldn't stop her! She brought all the fixins' for a spinach curry which was out of this world.

In the middle of the dinner cooking, Wendy arrived. At that point with four women in the kitchen things got really silly - it was definately a HEN (High Estrogen Night). I think all that estrogen got to Bruce, because he looked exhausted and Patty was kind enough to give him a chair massage!

****************************

Sitting around the dining room table, Patty got a funny twinkle in her eye.

"Should we chant the mantra we always do before meals?" she asked Wendy.

"Ooooo, that would be so fun! Ok, let's all hold hands and chant!" Wendy replied.

Bruce looked tense. He's notoriously touchy about any kind of blessing before meals, and I could tell he was bracing himself.

Patty leaned back her head and opened her mouth. In a deep voice she chanted.

"Yuuuuuuuuuuummmmm!!! Yuuuuuuuuummmmm!!!"

Yup, the mantra was "Yum", intoned in the very same way you'd chant "Om"! Even Bruce had to smile.

**********************

Allison and Bruce left early Sunday to do fish collecting at Borden Creek. Since there was not a peep from Wendy and Patty in the guest room, I potted around until about ten. I was upstairs putting away laundry when the phone rang.

A little voice chirped: "Can I order room service?!! I'd like eggs and bacon!!"

It was Wendy, calling me from the guest room on her cell. She and Patty were in there in their pajamas gabbing, and they wanted me to come join them. We all lay around until noon, and then I really did make them eggs.

*****************

The rest of Sunday? More gabbing!! We did manage to send out a gallery artist's mailing (thank you Michael for emailing the mailing list!!) and Wendy did, eventually, manage to get out of her pajamas into her street clothes!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!