Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:14 a.m. - 2004-05-21
Allergies
Every morning when I wake up I do this little body inventory. It's kind of like, "ok, what is my craptacular disease doing to me today?!"

I realised today that it's been a part of my morning ritual for years, just like taking a shower, getting a cup of coffee, doing the cat count (did we lose any during the night? Or worse yet, gain any?! Anybody missing any body parts?! (With Zesto, you never know....) and saying good morning to the bunnies, who never lose any body parts and can be relied upon to act really excited when I walk in the room.

It's just my morning stuff. It makes me feel grounded.

This morning the body inventory was a little disturbing. One of the glands in my neck is swollen up like a golf ball. A spiny, nasty golf ball - it really hurts. I feel wiped out all over and my nose is all stuffed up.

The good news? I don't think it's lupus. I think it's just allergies!!! Imagine that!!

I just took a Claritin, so my hypothesis should be proved in about an hour. It would be so lovely if for once I could get rid of body problems with a pill!!

****************************

Had a long talk with Wendy last night. Despite having a migraine it was the most wonderful conversation. She went to court yesterday to incorporate the gallery as a non-profit in the state of Alabama. It's the first step to 501-C3 status!!

I have to admit, the further this goes, the more I have this big lump in my stomach. The gallery has some serious debts, and we're going to have to do some amazing fund raising work. I feel frustrated at not being able to live in Birmingham, so I can help in a more hands on way.

But just talking about what's going on was great. Someday I have to do an entry on my feelings about how art should be for everyone, not just the rich, and how art should be part of everyone's everyday experience, not reserved for galleries. Bare Hands is the first gallery I've ever been in that really had a clue about that.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!