Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:30 a.m. - 2004-05-11
Yankee tan
You know how I know that I'm a true Yankee?

Because every time I get near a beach in Florida, I turn lobster red. It's a dead giveaway.

Sigh. So I'm sitting here with my back and legs bright, freakin', fire engine red. And you know what the kick of this is?

I used SPF 45 sun lotion. Yes, SPF 45, specially formulated for tender Yankee skin!!! And the dang stuff didn't work!!

I hurt!! I hurt!!

*********************

Despite my sunburn, and despite us driving for hours and hours in a non-air conditioned truck, it was still a nice vacation. I got to lay on the beach for a few lovely hours and Bruce got his fish, which he was all in a froth about.

It's fun to see Bruce get in a froth, especially about fish. He is the most fish-obsessed person I have ever met. It's very cute - he's like a ten year old.

Of course, getting these fish meant going out on the beach with a huge seine net and dragging it around in the water and then sorting through netted dead beach grass and avoiding netted crabs, all at a breakneck pace so that we could throw back the undesired fish before they got all stressed out.

And, of course, there's the geek factor. It seems like everytime we go out collecting fish every geek on the beach gravitates to our activity. Yup, they all want to know why we're gettin' those little fishes? Are we getting them for bait? Oh, it's for a scientific study! Oh, like, wow! So, like, why those little fish? Why not, like, bass or trout or somethin'?

I don't mean to make fun of these people, I know they are honestly curious. But it's weird - they always ask the exact, same questions!! It's like they turn on a tape recorder, and it's to the point where every time we go out collecting and someone randomly walks up, I make bets with myself what they're going to say. And I always win!!

This vacation's gang of geeks were a nice bunch - a few fishermen who all stared at me as I dragged my end of the net around. I thought they were admiring my fine physique, or perhaps my prowess with a seine net, but no. They were admiring my "Yankee Tan".

One of them even went so far as to point out that my skin almost exactly matched my hair. Why, thanks, Buddy! Nothing makes a girl feel gorgeous like pointing out the extent of her sunburn!!

********************

Came home to find the roses and foxgloves blooming like crazy!! Man, I hope they last a couple of weeks. Allison, Patty and maybe Wendy are coming up the weekend of May 22 - it'd be so nice if they got an eyeful of these!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!