Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:07 a.m. - 2004-05-07
Dr. Bruce & Ruth on the beach
This is Dr. Bruce posting a quick entry for Ruth. We're at Dauphin Island at the mouth of Mobile Bay. It's all-out summer here, hot and hazy with a strong sun. We're going out seining for longnose killifish this afternoon on what I hope is the high tide on the bay side of the island. I bought pastries this morning at the local bakery, and there's still a big cat population living in their parking lot. They're semi-ferals, mostly slate gray cats with a couple of black ones mixed in. They hang out in a tool shed and under the bakery; most houses here are raised on stilts for protection against storm sturges from hurricanes.

We're headed for the Florida panhandle tomorrow, somewhere in the Port St. Joe area. This is both for the hell of it, and I hope to collect some more longnose killifish...


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!