Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:19 p.m. - 2004-04-11
Easter
I've been so bad about updating lately. I've been sick, and feeling a little panicked about how much work I have going on, and weirdly, even though I've been busier than I have been in ages, life seems kind of...boring.

So boring, that I didn't even do anything to celebrate the Universal Bunny Birthday, which of course, the rest of the world knows as Easter. I don't even have a photo to post of Mr. and Miss You-Know-Who.

And in answer to boxx9000's question, this is the first year that I haven't been up at dawn hiding Easter eggs in a park. Easter eggs I rather crudely batiked myself.

This is mainly because we switched to organic, free range type chicken eggs this year, and they are brown. They just don't dye as nicely as the white ones we used to get. They just turn sort of dark and muddy looking. I have images of some little kid finding one and thinking "What the hey is this ugly egg about, anyway?"

Wendy has been out in Seattle this week, and when I talked to her Wednesday she told me that the friend she is visiting has a type of chicken that naturally produces sort of greenish blue eggs. I actually had the same kind of chickens when I briefly lived in a farm in my early 20's. The eggs they produced were a rather subtle mint green, very charming.

*********************

Sigh. So I have no cute bunny pictures, unlike saladwhore. I can tell you though, that I didn't neglect the little lovebugs as far as their birthday is concerned. I went to a Rabbit Society meeting yesterday and bought them quite a number of bunny toys.

Fully edible, of course. Because Miss You-Know-Who will most certainly ingest them. She is totally unable to grasp the concept of "play" rather than "eat".

They also got a big heap of herbs and veggies from our garden. Everything is up and coming, and all the herbs and even some kale and radicchio is back from last year. I'm very excited about all the stuff I'm seeing. I think all the composting and soil amendments we did paid off.

**********************

Hey, so I'm still sick!! In fact, at the end of the bunny meeting I got a migraine. I think it was from the tension of trying to hold myself together through the meeting even though I felt pretty miserable. It was a good thing Bruce was there to drive me home because I couldn't have made it on my own. In fact, I had a bout of vomitosis about ten miles before we reached our driveway.

I always vomit in the car when Bruce is driving, and he always tries to talk me out of it before it happens. last night was no exception. As my moaning got more and more intense, he started begging.

"Hang on, Ruthie!! I'm gettin' ya' there!!" His tone was desperate.

"I can't hang on! I feel...I feel......BLAHHHHHHHH!!!"


1 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!