Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:51 p.m. - 2004-04-04
New Directions
Before you do anything else, go to www.alabamaears.org. At the bottom, click on "Events 2004". (Sorry, I can't get a direct link to work! I've tried and tried!! Diaryland is failing me!!) Scroll down a little till you get to the "B.Y.O.B. Party". Then look at the second picture from the top on the right hand side See that woman in the green striped sweater? That's me! And, um, do you see what I have on my lap?!! An UPSIDE DOWN RABBIT!!!

And then go down two more photos. Yup, that's Bruce, hugging the Lokster. You can catch us in a few other photos, too. You won't catch a photo of Miss Bunny though. She's much too dignified for that sort of thing.

The last couple of weeks have been going sooooooo unbelievably well that under the Fruitbat Law of Impending Disaster I quite expect the rest of the year will be a horrendous failure to make up for it. So I'm going to celebrate like mad while I can!

And what am I celebrating? Why am I so happy?

Well, first of all, I made a small bundle of money selling some artwork, which is always charming. But I also feel like my life is starting to fall into place, like a lot of things I've wanted to be involved in over the years are suddenly available to me. I feel as though I'm starting to have a purpose.

A purpose! Is that scary or what?

First, I seem to have hit my stride in the studio. This is actually the most important thing, because for years I've had problems with artist's block and procrastination. So I'm getting some good work done, that I'm happy with. Not to mention the hospital commission, which was a major lift to my spirits.

Second, when I went to see Wendy last week, she talked to me about her plan to make Bare Hands a non-profit gallery. As a for-profit she has been having a serious financial struggle, and there are more sources of funding she could tap for non-profits. And the gallery is perfect for a non-profit, as so much more than just art shows go on there - concerts, benefits for charity groups, art and yoga classes. Wendy has talked to her lawyers and accountant, and is set to file the paperwork to set this in motion.

And her question for me - would I be interested in serving on the Board of Directors?

My first response was to laugh! Me, a board member?!! My second response was to be a little concerned because I live an hour and a half away, and so it's hard for me to be involved in the day to day operation of the gallery as much as I would like.

But in the end I was just incredibly honoured, and I love Bare Hands. I've wanted to feel more involved in its existence, and try to help it out of its financial woes. Not to mention I feel very strongly that this society just needs more art, dang it!! And one thing that has really been eating at me is that I've wanted to find some way I could contribute to making that happen.

So I said yes. Jeez. Wow! Thanks Wendy! I am sooooo honoured.

And at the opening Friday night, I found myself feeling very hopeful and protective of the place. It's a beautiful gallery and, despite how hard life is for non-profit arts groups right now, I think it will be ok. I think we can turn it around.

********************************

The other very exciting news I got, just last night, was that I've been accepted into the House Rabbit Society's Educator-In-Training program.

I didn't write about this before as it wasn't a sure bet I would get in. They don't take everybody. The application alone was enough to weed out most people: sixty nine questions dealing with subjects ranging from how many rabbits have I had to what is my philosophy on rabbits and other animals. (I restrained myself from answering "Existentalist").

My favorite question was "How would you counsel someone who has a rabbit who chews excessively?"

Heh heh heh. Thanks to Miss Bunny, my answer to that one went on for several pages.

In the end, I sent them a 22 page application form. Bruce teased me about writing my thesis! It paid off though, and so now when I call people up about rabbit issues I'm not just some flakey animal nut, I'm an Educator in Training!! For a national rabbit organisation!! It's fabulous!

And there is also a wonderful group of people here in Alabama who can help me with things like public speaking, which I am terrible at, and figuring out who to call about various things, which I am also pretty obtuse about. They've been doing this stuff for awhile, and seem very enthusiastic about teaching what they know. I am sooooooo looking forward to this!

************************

So there you have it - a few weeks ago I wrote an entry about feeling that I had found some directions in my life I wanted to pursue, and now suddenly the avenues for these have fallen into place. I feel this incredible clarity that I haven't felt for years. In fact, I don't know if I have ever felt this clear.

I also feel incredibly busy!! Jeez!! When am I going to have time for the garden?!!


3 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!