Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:27 a.m. - 2004-03-29
Zesto meets a wasp.
Oh My Gawd!! I know you are all sick of hearing me blither about the garden, but.... oh....man.....I just went outseide, and the wisteria is totally out and blooming itself silly! And the feral azaleas!! And the tulips, the Darwin tulips, that I got in honour of Bruce's obsession with Charles Darwin!! Yeah, I know - these tulips have nothing to do with Charles Darwin, I don't even know why they are called Darwin tulips. But they look so DAMN. FREAKIN'. FINE. !!!!!!!!!

Note to self: Buy about 50 kajillion big freakin' tulip bulbs this fall!! Put them in all over the place!!!

Man, nothing makes me happy like a big red tulip.

A purple iris made it's appearance this morning, too. I think it's one that I "liberated" from the old cemetary where we used to live. It was so played out that it took a couple of years to settle in and get happy.

And there are dozens more on the way!! Between the irises that were already here and the irises I brought with me and the irises we rescued when Bare Hands moved last year, we must have literally hundreds!!

Oh I could go on and on!! Blither, blither, froth, froth!!!

**************************

Speaking of frothing, we had a ""Zesto incident" yesterday.

He got stung by a wasp. Or at least, we think he did. He was playing with one, and when I pulled him away from it he howled and snarled. He could have just been being Zesto, but I got the distinct impression that the wasp had done him some harm. And Zesto is so addled he wouldn't have put together two and two, ie: if you play with a wasp, it will sting you. And if it stings you, you should probably back off.

So I watched him for a few minutes, and he was acting sort of strange. I called the Animal Emergency Vet place and they gave me dosages for Benedryl, but by the time I got it into some food, he was having trouble swallowing.

Or maybe he just hated the taste of Benedryl and cat food. I'm really not sure.

He didn't seem to be having trouble yowling or breathing, but he did start frothing at the mouth. So I plunked him in his carrier and drove like hey to the vet's.

He responded in his own charming and special way. And of course, the same vet tech student of Bruce's who saw him last time was working there this time as well. Sigh. As we were hissing our way through check in I heard the student, Brad, say "Yeah, her husband is my Biology professor! He's really nice, but man....that cat....whoa....man...."

To his credit, once we got into the room, Zesto was admirably controlled. Well, he didn't try to kill anyone, he just hissed and yowled. They managed to corner him in the carrier and gave him a shot of Benedryl and steroids. Eighy six dollars later, we were on our way home.

He appears fine this morning. Sigh. We have a cat who strikes fear into vet techs everywhere.


3 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!