Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:43 p.m. - 2004-03-21
Loki's Illness
As Dr. Bruce (livesand) mentioned earlier, I am worried sick.

We rushed Loki down to Alvin's clinic this morning. He refused to eat, and I had thought he was acting strange for a couple of days. Sigh. The problem with rabbits is that they are so stoic, you can just never tell if they are sick or just being weird.

I knew Alvin wouldn't be there today, but he has been training another vet in exotics medicine, and fortunately she was there. She's very nice, and very cautious. She asked us if we would leave him so they could watch him, get an X ray, and maybe some bloods and urine. Despite feeling completely unhinged, I agreed.

I feel a bit better now. She just called and said that he has been nibbling a little bit, but they had also given him some Critical Care type food, and some Nutra Cal, and also some non-steroidal pain medications. His x ray didn't show anything really weird, but they are considering he might have arthritis or a back problem.

Of course it didn't dawn on me till a couple of hours ago that Mirage ran into him last night and flipped him over. She was barreling around like a cow on speed and ran right into him, and over he went. I'm wondering if he landed hard on his side. He was favoring that leg this morning.

Anyway, I'm taking deep breathes and saying little prayers. Think some good thoughts for the little guy, will you?

*******************

And while you're at it, please think some really good thoughts for atomicbuddha who is just having a terrible time right now. i've been thinking about her all week.

**********************

Ok, so to distract myself, I'm going to put up some pictures. The first one is for everyone who is still snowed in up North. It's what's happening in our yard right now. So beauteous, eh??

There's some of our dozens of daffodils, an orange azalea blossom, quince blooms, some primroses and pansies, a fritillaria,the inevitable pansies....Some red Greiggi tulips came up today, but there weren't many of them so I couldn't bring myself to pick any.

And it's 75 degrees. Tell me you don't want to move here!

These next few are some art photos. None are representative of what I'm doing right now, which is more "real art" like. But they are images I already had scanned, so here they are.

The first is a pair of slippers I did for a wearable art show last year. It's amazingly easy to make a pair of slippers. I made a few of them.

And then there's this little devil doll I did for the Day of the Dead show in October. I did a few skeleton dolls as well, but danged if I can find the images of them....

This next thing is ancient, a few years old. I've always felt ambivalent about it and it sold before I could make up my mind as to whether to rip it up or not. The ram is a drawing I did of a sculpture in the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston. It's in their classical sculpture collection that I haunted when I was in art school. This ram is one of my most favorite pieces in that collection, and I drew it endlessly. I think I could still draw it in my sleep!

The rest of it is taken from another Greek piece - a ceramic vinegar jar that had all kinds of sea creatures on it.

I really am embarrassed by this. In fact I really hate it, and if I weren't so distressed about Loki I would probably think twice about putting it up!! Maybe in a few days I'll dig up images of some things I'm not emabarrassed to death by!


3 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!