Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:37 a.m. - 2004-03-14
BYOB
Yesterday was, quite honestly, one of the most overwhelming days of my life.

Overwhelming in a good way. It was the day of the long awaited "BYOB" (that's "Bring Your Own Bunny" for the unintiated) party!! After debating for weeks about whether or not to take Loki and Miss Bunny, I sat them down yesterday morning and laid down the law.

"You are not to bite, fight, thump or hump any other bunnies."

There was a little silence and then I swear I heard snickering and a little voice piped up. "What about peeing?" it enquired earnestly. "Can we pee on anybody?"

That sort of set the tone for the day. I had expected a rather sedate little party with a few bunnies and some fellow bunny nuts sitting around chatting about how cute little Thumper was when he was eating his carrots. Nuh uh. The minute we got in the door I realised it was full scale rabbit pandemonium.

There were, honestly, about 50 bunnies there, including I think about 20 foster bunnies. The house was packed with rabbits and their very devoted caretakers. I know it sounds goofy, but I felt totally comfortable. Yup, no doubt, I was with "my people"!!

Honestly, I really have never felt so comfortable. Who else would have understood peeing as a form of communication? The desperation of not being able to find appropriate toys for the compulsive chewer? The subtleties of the rabbit intestinal system?

I had a blast.

And just seeing all those rabbits was....was...overwhelming. There's no other word. There were tiny ones and huge ones, hyper ones and laid back ones. Rabbits of all sizes, shapes and colours. There was even a jaw dropping angora who bobbed around like a giant white caterpillar. I couldn't take my eyes off her.

Other people couldn't take their eyes off Loki. Immediately after we got there he came out of his carrier and climbed up in my lap, where he proceeded to fall asleep upside down with his feet in the air. And he stayed in that position for the entire party - about seven hours!! Most rabbits can be tranced into an upside down position for a short time, but Loki is the rare rabbit who will stay like that all day.

And once he gets in that position, he's lost to the world. At one point the noise was rather deafening, including a two year old having a temper tantrum, and he just snoozed on, without a care.

I wish I had charged for every picture that got taken of him. I could have made a nice donation to the HRS medical fund! One woman, Deb, took at least ten photos!

He also got passed around a bit - everyone wanted to hold him. At one point I realised I had lost track of him. There were a few Dutch bunnies at the party and I had a moment of shear panic when I realised I wasn't sure which one was Loki. After a few seconds I spotted him in the arms of a woman in a green shirt. He was, of course, snoozing.

Miss Bunny was not so relaxed. Despite being a wild woman at home, she is actually very shy outside the house. She decided that, really, it was better to stay in her carrier. Better safe than sorry, you never know when someone might decide to eat you.

She was very friendly from the confines of her carrier, poking her head out for treats and letting people scritch her ears. She actually let herself be lured out of the carrier for a few minutes with some pellets but as soon as those were gone she turned tail and went back in. It was quite a contrast to her party animal boyfriend, who was quite happy to let every lovely lady in the room carry him around.


2 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!