Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:14 a.m. - 2004-03-10
Sick Tornado Warnings
Ah, life in Alabama....

The emergency broadcast system just went off over the radio. It's a beautiful day, and I was surprised when the Arnold Schwartzy-esque programmed voice announced tornado warnings for Franklin County in Tennessee, which is fairly close to us. It then went on to announce tornado warnings for every other county in our emergency area, including Madison, which is ours. The information was quite detailed, including advice to take cover.

"What the...." I wondered, gazing at the sunny skies. Could it really be that 20 or so counties were having the storm of the century while skies were sunny and blue?

At the end of the litany of counties, there was a pause, and I swear the electronic voice was snickering.

"This has been a test tornado warning for all counties in the Huntspatch Emergency Notification area. This is only a test!"

And then I SWEAR the voice went on to say:

"Repeat: this is only a test! No actual tornadoes are present and there is no need to take action at this time!! Fair skies are abundant! Please proceed as for a normal weather day!"

The Emergency Weather Service has a sense of humour, I see. A rather sick sense of humour!!


2 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!