Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:58 p.m. - 2004-02-19
Spring Garden
Ok, folks, it's that time of year when I start blithering about gardening!! Because, oooooooooo!! It was 60 degrees today!! Or maybe higher!! And it was sunny and gorgeous!!! GORGEOUS!!!!

Oh, I'm so sorry. I totally forgot you Northerners are still being blitzed by cold and snow. I totally forgot you are still freezing, and have maybe two more months to go before any sort of vague warmth sets in up there.

Please accept my sincere apologies.

NOT!! BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!!

Oh, I'm sorry, I just have to go on about the yard, regardless of freezing friends and family! I just took an inventory of the yard (dressed in a sweatshirt!! No jacket!! BWAHAHAHAHAH!!!) and of course our croci are blooming, the rain lily foliage is coming up, the quince and dogwood are covered with buds. My ax murderess pruning job on the quince that I felt so bad about seems to have caused an explosion of baby flowers!

The shooting star, sweet woodruff, Solomon's Seal, wild ginger and toad lilies all have shoots. The blackberry lilies are up several inches. The evening primrose is forming a carpet, which means it'll send upright shoots out soon! And the primroses are blooming!! BLOOMING!!

All the bulbs are up - the English bluebells, the tulips, the hyacinths, the daffodils. Some of the daffs even have blooms forming!! There are buds on the mysterious evergreen trees that we think might be laurel. And the raspberry and blackberry bushes are forming leaf buds. The strawberries are getting new leaves, and the leftover raddichio plants are red as beets and have beautiful crowns.

My foxgloves and hollyhocks look positively bushy!! And the heuchera is already mounding up!!

Oooh! Are you sick of me? There's more!!

The Don Juan rose has many, many new leaf buds. I predict lots of branches with lots of roses!

And the herbs have shoots, too!!

And not only that, but there is just this "Gotta' clean!! Gotta' fix up this house in a really cool and groovy way!!" sort of feeling in the air!! I was looking at our detached garage and thinking how easy it would be to make it look a lot better - just a matter of painting the doors and the small amount of woodwork. And we could block off the areas at the top where the carpenter bees get in with some groovy molding from the Habitat ReStore. They have tons of old salvaged molding there!! Huzzah!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!