Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:42 p.m. - 2004-02-06
350th entry
I've been avoiding this entry.

It's the big one folks. This entry will be the 350th time that I've added an entry to this journal!!

350 entries!! It's unbelievable! How on earth could I have come up with that much drivel in less than two years time?!!

So anyway, I got all intimidated and I felt like I had to do some impressive big wah-wah entry, and I got so wound up that I actually had a dream about it! And so this morning I decided that I'm taking it way too seriously. I obviously have a few faithful readers who don't mind my prattling on about devious rabbit behavior and strange insects and how to get a urine sample from a cat. Why not just give the people what they want?

So what is the very special entry going to focus on?

Why, more drivel!!!! Of course!

******************************************

I do have some exciting news. Dr. Bruce sprung it on me a couple of days ago that he wanted to set up his own diary. I really loved having him add occasional updates to mine, and at first I acted as though this was some sort of request for a Diaryland divorce. But after a day or two I came around to the idea that he has a lot to say and really should have his own place to say it.

So, Dr. Bruce has now taken on the persona of livesand. Go say hi and give him a thrill!! I'm going to set up a guestbook for him soon, for folks who don't have access to the Diaryland notes section.

******************************

Ahhh, what else? Well, we had a rather intense animal rescue the other day! Well, it was not a real animal rescue, as these little critters were in no danger of dying. However, they were unwanted and in need of a home, so on Tuesday night we went to pick up - the tarantulas!!!!!

We are now the proud (and somewhat skeeved out) caretakers of a rose-toed tarantula and a Goliath Birdeating tarantula. The rose-toed is named, predictably, Rosy (that would be Miss Rosy to you!) and she's about as big as a the palm of my hand. The Goliath, whose name is Goliath (her previous owner was obviously not into the creative naming thing!) is much larger, about the size of a small salad plate. She is rapidly taking on the nickname of Shelob.

They belonged to the a guy who had had them for twelve years, but has now gone off to graduate school. He foisted them on his mother, who, while sympathetic, was not really into having two large arachnids hanging around her house. Since she's the assistant to a Board of Trustees member at UAH, the logical thing seemed to call the biology apartment to see if she could find some mad organismal scientist who liked spiders.

Of course, that led her to my esteemed husband, who has a reputation for rescuing odd pets.

I must confess, when I met them I came down with a case of the giggles. It's what I do when I get really nervous and/or feel like my life is in danger. However, they were enclosed in aquariums with tight fitting covers, and Bruce assured me that a tarantula bite is more like a bee sting than a fatal blow. So I felt reasonably safe.

Until we got in the car, that is. I sat in the back, with both aquariums. As I got in and took Goliath's aquarium on my lap, I had a flashing moment of pure terror.

"Please drive really slow!" I begged Bruce. "I'm sitting back here with two tarantulas!!"


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!