Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:52 a.m. - 2004-01-27
thank you for your show of support. Let's eat!
Well, now that I've had my little tantrum....thank you all for being so amazingly supportive! I was honestly very touched by how people responded, especially since I figured I would just alienate everyone with my frothing bile. I just needed to get this out of my system.

So, besides being a cranky ass sick lady - what else is new?

We haven't heard from the foster mom of the kitty we've been considering adopting. I'm concerned that maybe she thinks anyone crazy enough to adopt a blind half-Siamese cat is too crazy to trust with a blind half-Siamese cat! Bruce actually thinks this woman is an animal hoarder, and can't bear to give up any of her animals. I find this hard to believe, as she is well known in the rescue community and has a great reputation.

I can understand not being able to give up an animal, though, which is one of the reasons I don't do foster care. Any animal that comes into this house is staying here for the rest of it's life! I just get too attached.

***********************************

How 'bout them primaries? I still haven't decided who I'll be voting for, though I've been reading about the candidates to the point where I'm getting totally confused about who has said what. In theory, I actually am of the Yippie sentiment - "Don't vote - it only encourages them." However, living in Alabama has made me realise I have to vote, if only in local elections. Sometimes even a few votes make a difference here.

But I will be voting in this Presidential race. I feel like Sauron is in the White House now and honestly, I would vote for anyone in order to get him out. Even Frodo Baggins!

I'm leaning towards Kerry. Partly because, having lived in Massachusetts I know him, and partly because he skeeves me out the least of all the candidates. I confess, this is purely a gut, intuitive feeling. At the very beginning of the campaign I was leaning towards Dean. I liked the idea that he was raising money on-line, from everyday people, and wasn't so tied to large corporate donations.

But as the weeks have gone on, I've gotten more and more weirded out by Dean. It has nothing to do with his war whoop - I actually thought that was encouraging. The guy has some emotions! I just get this feeling that underneath his outer shell he is more of a rich kid than he would want us to believe. I know Kerry is from a rich family, too, (can you say John FORBES Kerry?!) but somehow he just doesn't ooze it from his pores.

It all just comes down to my gut at this point. I mean, anyone is better than Bush, right?

Where's Frodo when we need him?!

********************************

Speaking of Frodo, I'm thinking about naming my next pair of rabbits Frodo and ......Bobo!! You all though I was going to say Sam, right? Nope. Bobo.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!