Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:35 a.m. - 2004-01-21
nice people
Ok, you didn't believe me when I said I was getting Siamese Twin Siamese cats? Well, let me introduce you to Sia and Mia!

They arrived yesterday in the mail, and I just howled when I opened the box. I literally had to hold onto a table when I saw them! The really hysterical part is that they have one rear end - but two tails!!

**************************************

And in the "I cannot believe how insanely NICE Alabamans are" department:

Bruce and I got a postcard from one of our favorite places in Birmingham, a little bookstore that sells artist's books and fine press books, as well as antigue books and prints. The postcard said they were having a closing sale, 20% off.

Heartbroken, we decided to stop by the next time we were in Birmingham.

Turns out that they are only closing the storefront part of their business. They have actually bought one of the major distributors of artist's books in the country (whose name I won't mention because I don't want to get Googled for them). They are moving this business, now located in San Fransisco, to Birmingham. Vicky, one of the owners, assured me that I could come to their new digs anytime I wanted and drool over all the new books they'll have - what a thrill!

While we were there, Bruce picked up a couple of old Denton fish prints he's been in love with. He wanted the whole series, but we could only afford the two. Still, he was quite happy, and Vicky even gave him a little discount beyond the 20%.

I think it helped that we had Miss Bunny in tow. We were on our way to see Alvin. Miss Bunny inspires discounts!

Anyway, to make a long story short, we got a package in the mail the other day from this bookstore. I thought it was odd, since we hadn't ordered anything from them. When I opened the package, there, neatly wrapped, were the other three prints from the fish series!! And a little note from Vicky that said "As we are packing today I found we had these left, and thought I'd send them to you! Hope you enjoy them!"

Dayam!! These people are just too dang sweet!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!