Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:14 p.m. - 2003-12-13
Cranky
WHOA!!! Crank attack!!

Yup, I am feeling just totally overwhelmed and as though I am going to explode in a humongous greasy explosion of cranky nastiness.

The house is a mess, and we are leaving in, what? like four days to go to New Hampshire. At which time I need to have all of my Christmas shopping done. Which would not be such a difficult task except that I made a rule this year that I would no longer support big huge corporations in their annual Christmas holiday suckfest.

Instead, I decided to support local small businesses.

Well, wake up Howdy!! Thanks to Wal-Mart and Target and Bed, Bath and Be-Freaking-yond, do you all realise how hard it is to find an actual, real, small local business?!!! It is very nearly impossible! Impossible!!

I have managed to uncover a shop here in Huntspatch which makes all its own soap and bath products, so today I went in there and made their day by spending a small fortune. I bought three bars of their Kudzu soap alone!***

Other than that, I am stuck.

And I have Christmas cards to address, and many of them are what I think of as the "hard ones". The ones where you don't really know the people but you should really write a small and chatty note anyway. So you have to actually use your brain, to think of something intelligent, witty, yet not overly personal.

I hate these sorts of cards.

And there are other things tugging at me. Bruce is sick, and this is worrying me.

He was so sick that we blew off the "Bring Your Own Bunny" party, as he just was not up to driving. I'm worried that he actually has pneumonia. And there are all these stupid house things. I have curtains to make!! Those DAMN FREAKIN' CURTAINS!!! How long have I been talking about making these curtains?? Six months, at least!! And we have a pile of ceramic tile sitting in the front hallway that I have to sort out and do something with so that our petsitter doesn't fall over it. And we have to go get a pile of hay and do some other errands in Birmingham. And my studio is a mess. A MESS!!

The only bright and happy spot in this is that I'm volunteering to help with a fundraiser for the local no-kill cat shelter tomorrow. I'm helping with a "have your pet's picture taken with Santa" promotion. So all day I get to hang out with a bunch of insane animal lovers and take pictures of terrorized cats pinned down by a guy in a tacky Santa suit. Doesn't this sound like fun?

If I emerge from this alive at the end of the day maybe I'll write a more cheerful entry.

***For the uninitiated - kudzu smells like grape soda!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!