Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:36 a.m. - 2003-12-05
Winter depression
That sluggish, winter, seasonal depression so bad I can't get out of bed is hitting my old brain.

I've spent much of this week feeling like I am wading through molasses. I always think of Boston's molasses factory explosion this time of year.

Do ya'll know about this? It's a true story. Even I could not make this up. Many years ago there was a molasses factory in Boston which had a terrible accident, an explosion or something. And gallons and gallons of molasses were released, flooding the streets and actually killing people. Try as they might, they could not escape the waves of sweetly smelling goo.

I think of that scenario this time of year, because that's how I feel. Like I'm wading through gallons of sticky goo, trying desperately to get something, anything, done before I succumb to just crawling back under the covers and sleeping till February.

It's one of the great things about living in Alabama. When we lived in Boston, this feeling used to hit me in October and last till April. Now it comes like clockwork on December 1st, and gracefully exits around February 14th, which is just about when the daffodils start blooming here.

*************************************

Actually, I would probably feel much worse except that I had two absolutely wonderful conversations this week, with two absolutely wonderful people.

The first was with Tracie, the artist I am sharing the gallery with for my show in October. I saw her when I went down to drop off work at the gallery earlier this week.

It was the first time I had seen her since Wendy had arranged for us to do the show together, and I was anxious to talk with her about aesthetics and logistics. But - first things first!! Tracie and her husband are in the process of adopting a little Chinese girl, and I had to hear all the details!!

Tracie had photos of their baby, Calliope, who is still in China. They are going to pick her up sometime in February. She was an adorable baby, and I actually got very teary looking at her photo and hearing about all the research Tracie has done on China and its culture, and all the planning they have gone through for this baby.

It really was quite inspiring, and very beautiful. This little girl is going to have the most amazing home!

It also brought home to me my complete and utter childlessness. At 44 years old, it is very doubtful that there will be any babies in my future. I actually feel strangely sad about this, or incomplete somehow, like I never actually grew up and became an adult. There's a part of me still stuck in the teenage years.

Anyway, I have been thinking about ways to investigate this all in art. One way or another I will get it out of my system!

***************************************

The other conversation was with Monique, the woman who rescued the rabbit, Noel, last week.

She called me a couple of nights ago to tell me that Noel is doing just fine and he is home with her and her other rabbit and what sounds like about 20 cats that she has rescued! I want to meet this woman!

Anyway, evidently Noel has stopped coughing and sneezing so much and he has even been introduced to one of the cats, who likes to sleep in his cage occasionally. He has not, however, been introduced to the other rabbit, Cindi Lou, because Noel is still under the weather and neither of them has been neutered. Monique is not crazy about cute baby bunnies.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!