Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:41 a.m. - 2003-12-04
Cat Pee
How about a break from birthdays? Wouldn't you all like to read an entry about....cat pee?!!

Yesterday was the day when Zesto had to have his urine retested. The previous times we've needed a urinalysis I've had to take him in to Dr. Lisa, because he refuses to pee in a box with no litter. She had to anesthetise him and get a specimen with a syringe or by expressing his bladder. I just hate having to do this with him, because when he's not on kitty happy drugs, he really hates the vet.

I know, I've heard all the tricks. Use styrofoam packing peanuts instead of litter! Sorry, folks, he eats them. Use marbles!! Sorry, folks, he eats them. Use ripped up waxed paper!! Sorry, folks, he....well, you get the idea. Zesto ingests the strangest stuff.

So yesterday I fed Zesto a big bowl of watered down cat glop and decided to just wait him out. The two of us hung out in the blue room with a book and an empty cat box. By noon he was looking just way too distressed, and I couldn't bring myself to torture him any longer. I poured about a half inch of litter into the box.

He immediately jumped in and started peeing. Just then I noticed a clean plastic yogurt container sitting on a shelf. It was a Yoplait container, and I was saving it because it has a smarmy message on the side that says "Protect wildlife. Crush cup before disposal."

I hate this insipid little message and I'd been planning to write to them and say something to the effect that if they really gave a damn about wildlife they should not put their yogurt in plastic cups which take forever to biodegrade. And what was the real message here - that it's ok to toss the Yoplait cup out in the woods as long as you crush it first so some poor animal doesn't get it's head stuck?

Anyway, I had been planning to give the Yoplait people a piece of my mind, but as Zesto was peeing, I realised there was a better use for the cup. I took a deep breath, and shoved it under Zesto's butt.

Pee in a cup!! Zesto looked confused, but couldn't stop peeing. Victory was mine! Within ten minutes the sample was at Dr. Lisa's office!!

And I got a call from Dr. Lisa this morning! Zesto is evidently just about cured. His urine sample was great, with no blood or crystals. She wants to keep him on his special food, but it looks like all is well with the Toad Boy.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!