Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:14 p.m. - 2003-11-29
Home Improvement
"Should I add an entry?'

"Sure, if you feel up to it."

"Well, actually I don't. I'm bushed."

I am bushed, too. For the last two days we have "made serious progress". This is one of my favorite phrases in regards to the house/yard. Basically what it means is that we've done something that makes me think the place may eventually not look like seven generations of evil junk monsters and their pet gremlins has lived here. Which is approximately what the house looks like now.

So for the last two days I've been raking the lawn and cleaning up all the leaves. This was extremely important, because much of our yard is moss.

For those of you not into moss gardening (which, by the way, happens to be the newest groovy thing amongst the cool and trendy gardening set and where on earth have you been?!) it is imperative that your moss be kept absolutely free of dead leaves at all times.

I don't care if it's cool and trendy. I loved our moss before moss even became a desired garden asset. In fact, one of the reasons I wanted the house was all that lovely, ultra-green, outrageously soft on the bare feet moss. So I don't really mind the obsessive raking. But it does tend to tucker one out.

Bruce did the most difficult work though. He tackled the RV Hut. In the last two days he removed the rotted wood framework and knocked down the discoloured and lichen covered plastic that was covering one side.

It looks so much better. It actually looks like a place that could, with a coat of paint, be used as a nice sheltered picnic area. And under the dead wood and plastic and endless vines we discovered there are beautiful big rocks that could be covered with candles and pots of food.

It won't get finished till spring, and we'll have to rent some scaffolding to get the last dead wood off the ceiling and do the painting, but that's ok. I wouldn't want to give our neighbors too much of a shock all at once.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!