Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:32 p.m. - 2003-11-25
Lil' Bunny gets a home!!
Sorry I've neglected the diary for a few days. I've been trying to get a significant body of work together for a show coming up in Decemeber (a significant body meaning more than three pieces) and I've been helping a friend of a friend through a rabbit crisis.

This very wonderful woman was at a vet clinic with her cat when two boys brought in a sick rabbit. They were basically just dumping it since they didn't want to pay for its care. After telling them in no uncertain terms what jerks they were, Monique, who already has one rabbit and has done animal rescue work, informed the vet that she was taking the bunny.

It turns out the little guy has Pasteurella, and the vet, who obviously has about three seconds worth of training in rabbit medicine, told Monique she could not take the bun home to her other rabbit because of contagion. In fact, he was quite negative about the whole situation, despite the fact that the bunny was eating, drinking, and in general good spirits. In fact Monique said he was doing quite well considering his obvious neglect.

Monique doesn't know much about rabbits, but she was not to be deterred. She told the vet to do what he could for treatment and went home to start a campaign to find a home for this bun. She emailed everyone she knew in animal rescue, including a woman named Cassie who is a student of Bruce's and has become a good friend.

Cassie sent the email on to Bruce and I. You know me, folks, I can't keep myself out of this stuff.

So I sent her the House Rabbit Society info and gave her Alvin's phone number and told her that Mirage and Loki have been together five years and Loki shows no signs of getting Mirage's Pasteurella, and supposedly all rabbits have Pasteurella anyway so what's all this hysteria about contagion? She went on to do more research herself and had a long talk with Alvin. To make a long story short, she's picking up the little guy tomorrow from the vets. Yup, he's going home to her house!

I love happy endings, especially where animals are concerned. I have to keep reminding myself that even for all the rotten abuse stories, there are many, many happy ending stories, and I really believe that at least as far as animals are concerned the world is getting just very slightly more enlightened. Look at all the spay/neuter movements that didn't even exist twenty years ago!

In fact, I bet twenty years ago the jerks that had this bunny would've just released it into the woods or bopped it on the head. At least now they had the sense to bring it to a vet to be humanely euthanised.

Anyway, you know I could go on and on, but I'll shut up now. But if you could see me, you'd know I have a great big smile on my face. Yeah, one more rabbit leaves an abusive situation and goes to a great home!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!