Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:25 p.m. - 2003-11-22
Friday Five
You know, the goofy thing about having Bruce do the occasional update is that I find myself wondering if I've updated since I last updated. I find myself checking my own diary to see if I have any new entries.

Sadly, I think the only entries that will be on here this weekend will be my own. Bruce went to his Dad's 75th birthday party in Baltimore this weekend, so I'm flying solo here.

I've written before about how I hate to be alone, and how afraid I am of the dark, so I won't go into all that again. Suffice to say that tonight I plan to make the bedroom curtains and then the living room curtains and then curtains for the entire house, followed by painting the hall closet. By about 5 am I'll be obsessively folding and refolding my underwear, in a desperate attempt to stay awake until sunrise.

Either that or I'll get out the bottle of Glenfiddich, and perhaps some of Zesto's muscle relaxants. I'll drug myself into submission!!

Wendy helped me get through the day. She came up from Birmingham about one, and we spent the rest of the day gabbing about how to make the gallery more successful, what we really want out of life, strategies for getting out of debt, whether or not to have kids...all while dyeing some of her old clothes in new and exciting colours. Like bright freakin' red.

No really. I sent her home with the most insanely fire engine red dress you can possibly imagine. I know she'll look great in it! And I firmly believe that every gallery owner should have at least one bright red dress.

Anyway, it was great to talk the entire day, because I've become such a hermit. I often fear that I'm losing all my social skills, and that I'll eventually become one of those people that everyone avoids when they see them at the drug store. You know, the slighly odd people who just can't seem to keep up a coherent conversation without using lots of hand gestures and trailing off at inappropriate moments.

****************************

Without Bruce, I'm also devoid of coherent thoughts. What to say?!!! Hey, for once in my Diaryland life, I'll do the Friday Five!!!

Oh, it's Saturday.

We'll just pretend we're in a time warp, shall we?

The Friday Five:

1. What are five things you want to accomplish by the end of the year?

This one is easy:

a) those dang curtains.

b) more of those dang curtains

c) finishing my art for the December show

d) raking all the leaves in our yard into the compost pile

e) getting a truckload of horse manure. Why? Because I looooove horse poop, that's why. No, really I want it for our terribly undernourished garden soil.

2. List 5 people you've lost contact with that you'd like to hear from again.

This one is easy. There is NO ONE I have lost touch with that I'd like to hear from again. If I lose touch with someone, it's always for a very good reason. Bruce has joked for years that I'm a Bozo magnet. I attract Bozos. And I have spent a significant amount of time trying to get rid of those Bozos, too!! If you are in my life right now, congratulations - you have made it past the Bozo test!! You are officially NOT A BOZO!!!

3. List five things you'd like to learn how to do?

Gaa - only five?

a) paint with oils to the point where I'm really fluent with it.

b) speak Gaelic.

c) cake decorating. Yes, I am serious, dammit!!

d) knit

e) step dancing (please stop giggling, Bruce. Did you all know Bruce is having his 50th birthday on December 11th?)

4. List five things you'd do if you won the lottery.

I think I talked about this in a previous entry, but here it is:

a) give tons of money to literacy campaigns.

b) give even bigger tons of moneys to animal rescue/spay and neuter work.

c) I'd take my folks back to England. They are getting older and I think they need to see Leicester one more time.

d) I'd by Bruce something nice. Or maybe I would just hire a massage therapist to give him a daily shoulder rub.

e) and for me? A Mini Cooper!!!

5. List five things that help you relax.

You know, all the things I can think of that help me relax are things other people would find totally unrelaxing.

a) Well, actually, I do have a bath fixation.

b) Really hyperactive gardening, like hauling around 40 pound bags of top soil. If I haul around enough dirt and plants I just wear my self plum out.

c) Really obsessive housefixing. Like pulling all the tiny little nails out of the detached garage's walls.

d) Oh, when I'm anywhere near a large deposit of snow, I find snowshoeing truly relaxing! I don't truly relax much here in Alabama during the winter....

e) Ummmmm......


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!