Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:36 p.m. - 2003-11-20
Dr. Bruce's Mussel List
Greetings from Dr. Bruce--

First of all, a music update. I've been listening a lot to two bands I'd never heard of until 2 weeks ago. Fat Possum is from somewhere in north Florida, and play the kind of fatback slop blues you'd find in a tarpaper shack roadhouse on a dirt road up the street from a boat launch. It's perfect for dancing around on a hardpacked dirt floor while holding a longneck. And the Mermen, from California, are a surfadelic band with (tolerable) world music influences. It's the perfect apres-surf music when you feel like stretching it out. I'm way inland from tidewater right now, but the Mermen get me going anyway.

Also, here's a list. Diaryland seems to encourage people to make lists on some irregular basis. Mine is: a list of all the North American freshwater mussel species I've seen this year, common name only:

1. Giant Floater

2. Flat Floater

3. Washboard

4. Pink Heelsplitter

5. Mapleleaf

6. Pimpleback

7. Monkeyface

8. Purple Wartyback

9. Threehorn Wartyback

10. Butterfly

11. Yellow Sandshell

12. Pink Mucket

13. Black Sandshell

14. Spectaclecase

15. Three Ridge

16. Elephantear

17. Spike

18. Ebonyshell

19. Sheepnose

20. Ohio Pigtoe

21. Rough Pigtoe

22. Round Pigtoe

23. Pistolgrip

I guess that's it. We're still hoping to find a Fawn's Foot and White Heelsplitter among others at our site on the Tennessee...

A thought for the day: What would President W look like in one of those tall bearskin hats worn by the guardsmen in front of Buckingham Palace?


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!