Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:26 a.m. - 2003-09-30
Salmon Stew
Miss Burma has been exceptionally friendly the last few days. I think it is finally sinking in that the way to get extra food out of me is to be as friendly as possible. The friendlier she is, the more food I will tend to fork over.

Still no touching though, but this morning we sat together for quite a long time on the floor. She finally got bored, and went to play with her "crackly snake".

****************************************

Since we moved to Alabama, I have gotten far more interested in cooking. First of all, I have the time to think about it now, and second of all, I have come to realise how much cheaper it is to cook a meal, even a real, serious, not-from-cans meal, than to order take-out. It's insanely cheaper. And since we are still paying off a Ph.D.'s worth of student loans, cheaper is good.

Last night I made salmon. I have this way of making salmon that takes all of five minutes and costs about $6 for two people, including the salmon. Ummm....that would be Alabama prices, which are probably about a two thirds of what the rest of the country pays!

First you take a baking dish big enough for your salmon filet which is big enough for two people and maybe a cat or two. Oil up the bottom and sides of the baking dish, then pour a couple tablespoons of lemon juice in the bottom. If you are feeling exotic, put just a couple of thin slices of ginger root in the bottom of the pan, too.

Next, take your filet and make some slices into the top of it. Not all the way through, just into the top 1/2 inch. Sprinkle the top of the filet with some lemon juice, then, if you have some fresh herbs (what?! You don't grow basil on your windowsill?!!) push the herbs into the cuts you make in the top of the filet.

Next, slice an onion, a green pepper, some muchrooms if you have them, or some zucchini, or whatever veggies you have floating around loose in the fridge, into very thin slices. Arrange them on the top of the salmon, then pour a can of diced tomatoes (or even a chopped fresh tomato and some bouillion) or the top of the whole thing.

Bake at 375 for about.... oh, you know. Twenty minutes or a half hour till the fish is done.

I swear this takes five minutes to put together. And it looks and tastes very impressive!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!