Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:19 p.m. - 2003-09-28
Hippie McDonald's
Are ya'll gonna' watch Martin Scorsese's series on the blues? It starts tonight! Ya'll get in there and turn on those TVs!!

I'm particularly anxious to watch it since we live right in the blues heartland, and I've been to a lot of the places they'll be talking about. And a tiny little part of the show was actually filmed at the Elks Hall in Huntsville!!

Yup, you know where I'll be at 8 pm the next few nights.

**************************************

I had the weirdest experience yesterday. It involved a McDonald's.

I actually went to a McDonald's. Bruce and I were on the road to Birmingham when I realised I hadn't eaten enough for breakfast. Our only dining option was fast food, 'cuz there just ain't no real restaurants between here and B'ham. It's sickening, but honestly, my choice was to eat Micky D's or have a seizure from low blood sugar.

I chose the french fries.

I didn't notice anything strange when we first walked in, except that the teenagers running the place seemed abnormally well-scrubbed and chirpy. They actually seemed...happy. And then, when I sat down, I realised something very strange.

The windows were covered with little paintings. Paintings of peace signs and yin yang symbols, interspersed with "Welcome to McDonald's" and "Peace now" and "Lovin' Life!!" written in scrawly handwriting.

After getting my bearings, I looked a little further. It got weirder.

There was a tie dye wall hanging up over the menus, and a beaded curtain covered the doorway to the kitchen area. And then the best part:

A lava lamp.

You think I'm kidding don't you? But I'm not! I swear to stars above I am not making this up. There was a lava lamp on the counter, next to the napkins.

No wonder all these kids were so happy. They had basically taken over the McDonald's and given it some personality. Yessir, they had had it their way!!

It was such a fabulous breath of fresh air. I'm almost tempted to go back again.

**************************

Birmingham was also bizarre. Stopped at Bare Hands for a few minutes before we went on to get hay at Alvin's (they sell hay as a fundraiser for the House Rabbit Society spay and neuter fund - one more reason I love Alvin) and five minutes after we got to the gallery guess who walked in the door?

The last person in the world I want to see, that's who!! Well, maybe not the very last person (that would be my ex-husband) but someone I just have not been wanting to deal with at all.

Miss Beth.

I haven't spoken to her since the whole "Your house is ugly, but I'm not goin to say that to your face, I'm just going to tell all our mutual friends so that it'll get back to you in a really ugly way" incident. I just have not wanted to deal with her, and in retrospect, I'm not sure why we had a friendship at all. It's just one of those things where, when it's all over, you wake up one day and think "Huh? What was THAT about?"

Anyway, we said a polite hello, and then she talked to Wendy for awhile while I went around the gallery trying on jewelry. Wendy has been having her annual wearable art show and there's just waaaaay too much luscious jewelry in there.

By the time she left, I had just about convinced myself I really needed this fabulous silver necklace.

As she went out the door, Wendy, who knows the whole story, looked at me and just started giggling. I had been afraid she would feel really uncomfortable about the whole thing but she was fine with it. "But I can't believe the timing!" she laughed. "I haven't seen her for months!!"

The very weird thing is that Wendy called me later that night and told me that Beth actually came back after we left, and seemed to want to talk about it. She told Wendy that she really is heartbroken about the whole thing and Wendy said she actually teared up. So now I really am thinking "Huh?!!"

********************

Hey, you want to see my latest bunny desire? Seriously, folks, I am in love with this bunny who is being fostered by the Alabama HRS. Her name is Nualla, and you should go take a peak!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!