Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:16 a.m. - 2003-09-26
Pillowcases
You know, really all I have to say is about how much I hate our local NPR station. And the only alternative to our lame NPR is Clear Channel.

Right now they are playing this totally overwrought Broadway music with a florid tenor crooning his way through "oh, your eeeyyyyyyeeeees!! Your eeeeyyyyyyyeeeeeess! So blouuuuuuuuuuuuueeee!! Your eeeyyyyyyyeeeeeeeessss!!!!"

Oh, how I pray to become rich and famous so I can afford that DSL connection!!

********************************************

I did something last night that was so proufoundly satisfying I really wonder why I don't do it more often.

No, not THAT, silly!!! I made pillow cases!!

We've been needing pillowcases for an age, and I refuse to buy them new. You know, they cost a fortune, considering they are just rectangles of cloth sewn together with exactly two seams. The ones I find in thrift shops always seem just too worn out, consequently I've just been relying on the same cases we've had, really I swear, since we met.

That would be about 18 years.

Anyway, I recently found, at Hobby Lobby of all places, some goofy but fun fake batik material in really wild colours, and also some vintage reproduction cotton, all very cheap. So I bought all this material, not having a clue what I'd do with it.

Last night I was feeling yet another night of insomnia coming on, an insomnia that no amount of warm milk would cure. I was staring at my pillow with its oh so grungy case, and it dawned on me - I would make pillowcases out of all that fabric!! I mean, why not? It's not like there's a big mystery to pillowcase sewing!!

Two hours later I was still wide awake, but I had four pillowcases!! Fabulous!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!