Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:09 p.m. - 2003-09-21
Litany of Complaints
I am finally within spitting distance of finishing this doll. I'm very anxious to get her done, done and done because I feel like she is attracting some vortex of bizarre energy that I've been swirling around in.

Don't believe me? Ok, here is a summary of the last two weeks that I've been working on her. In no particular order:

1. My friend Sarah's parakeet died. This after we had thought she was making an astoundingly good recovery. Even the vet thought she was ok, and had relesed her from the vet hospital. Sarah was devastated, and I felt pretty terrible, too.

2. Those squirrels!! Yeah, the squirrel-ey squirrels!! So dang cute....but so much running around and worry! I heard from Layla again, by the way, and they're still doing fine.

3. I had my whole insane dealings with the Post Office - and that twit woman did report me to the Postal Inspectors for supposedly threatening to murder her!! I spoke to a very nice Postal Inspector a couple of days ago, though, and he not only told me he's filing a "non-credible threat" report (basically a rebuke to an employee who files a frivolous complaint) but he's also going to start an investigation in case my mail is being stolen. Oh, and his advice? "My mail comes to a Mailboxes, Etc. box. I deal with the Post Office as little as possible. They lose things and the employees all have sticky fingers."

Well, there's a vote of confidence from someone who should know.

4. I went back and forth with the hospital because I'm disputing the bill from the jerky doctor I saw a couple of months ago. This has been even more frustrating than dealing with the Post Office!! Is that possible??!!!

5. My mom found out she has rheumatoid arthritis, but disturbingly it also appears that she, like me, has an auto-immune system disease. She's completely freaked out about this, which is understandable, but she's also going through this whole guilt thing because she thinks she hasn't paid enough attention to my lupus, and that I've been suffering teribly and she hasn't done enough to help.

Which is completely ridiculous, because I've been relatively unscathed by this disease to the point where I'm not sure people even really believe I have it. The only time I really feel I am suffering terribly is when I run out of my gigundous supply of chocolate. But that has nothing to do with lupus.

6. The endangered mussels thing that Bruce has been working on has turned weird! It's too complex to go into here but basically they may be sueing the construction company for killing endangered mussels. Oh, the excitement!

7. The hordes of maurauding chestnut stealers and walnut wackos that have descended upon us!! A pox upon them all!!

8. And not least of this - on Thursday Zesto developed a urinary tract stone, causing him discomfort and an inability to pee. He passed the stone Friday morning but is now on antibiotics and a special diet.

9. As if to get her share of the attention - Athena beat up Burroughs Thursday night and gave him a nasty puncture wound under his chin. I had to flush it out with Nolvasan and say little St. Francis prayers over him.

10. I got an email from a researcher in England in answer to a letter I had sent him. I told him about a horse skull my father had found under the floorboards of his store building and asked him if it might have any relation to the horse skulls found in old British buildings. It turns out to be only the third American horse skull he has heard of and he's very excited, so now I will be doing some research for him when I go up North in October. "Keep an eye out when you're in the building!!" he chirped in his email. "People often find dead cats as well!!"


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!