Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:28 p.m. - 2003-09-07
Stickbug Season Beginneth.
Hazzah! Newsflash!! The first stickbug of the season was spotted Friday afternoon, as I was cleaning the outside of the den windows!!

Unfortunately, the poor fellow had been caught in a spider web, and by the time I found him he was toast.

I'll have to remember this for next year - the stickbug season coincides with the chestnut season.

***********************************

Miss Bunny has had an incredible rumbling stomach today. It is so bad I can hear her in the kitchen. She seems otherwise sound, exhibiting all the symptoms of a healthy bunny. Begging for treats, humping Loki, throwing her hay around, chewing up her cardboard box and my pant cuffs and everything else she can get her hands on.

I don't know what to make of it. If she hadn't had so many problems with her health I wouldn't think twice about it. If a human stomach was grumbling like this I'd be appalled, but for some strange reason it almost suits Mirage.

***************************

The Huntspatch Trade Day was yesterday. On Courthouse Square, in what passes for our downtown district, it's a strange melange of veteran's groups, homemade soap vendors, purveyors of expensive trinkets, purveyors of harmless craft items made by little old ladies, puveyors of "antiques" and out and out junk, and a truly excellent honey seller.

Bruce and I always go. I always buy the same things: a honey bear, a cheap charm for my overloaded charm bracelet, a few used books from the library's table, and a couple of bars of homemade soap.

This year I also bought a poppy from one of the veteran's groups. I love those crepe paper poppies. When I was a little kid they were made out of fabric, but I like the crepe paper ones just as well.

The used book I bought this year was a copy of "The Tightwad Gazette - Volume 1" for a dollar. It actually seemed an expensive price for a used book about how to be a cheapskate!! I love the Tightwad Gazette though, and I credit it with helping Bruce and I to live on his smallish income in such a way that I don't have to go back to some hellish office job.

Granted, some of the suggestions are freakishly cheap!! Like saving butter wrappers in the freezer and using them to grease baking pans with. But you know what? I must be a freak, because I actually do these things.

Sigh. Do you all think I'm nuts?

My favorite suggestion in this volume of the book is to cut out your name and address from any junk mail you get - catalogues or whatever - and paste them on your mail for instead of return address stickers. I'm slapping myself in the forehead - why didn't I think of this before I ordered that $6 roll of address labels last week?


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!