Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:04 p.m. - 2003-08-30
Herbal Stuff
I just reread my entry from yesterday. I sound drugged! Well, I guess that's what happens when you spend two and a half exhausting days driving from one end of Alabama to the other, literally.

Uh, would that be sort of like driving to Hell and back?

Of course, I'm talking heatwise here, folks. It was way hotter down at the bottom end of the state than it is up here. I would never imply that Mobile was like Hell. Although for all I know it very well could be.

***********************************

Bruce is using muscle balm that's making him see Jesus!! He says it feels like cool water is trickling down his arm. The muscle he pulled is instantly feeling better!!

We bought this herbal muscle balm from some cute teenagers at the Chatanooga farmers market. My Mom's arthritis is getting really severe, and I thought she might like this stuff better than the Aspercreme crap she's been complaining about. Besides, I wanted to support this place because they have a program to raise goldenseal and ginseng and reintroduce them in areas where they are endangered. If we go and participate in their goldenseal growing workshop, we can even buy "captive grown" (as opposed to wild-harvested)goldenseal and possibly also "captive grown" ginseng for the jungle.

And that, my friends, would be very, very cool.

Besides, I liked the rest of their product line. Besides the muscle balm they had a very refreshing mosquito repellant that wasn't chock full of DDT, or whatever they're using these days, and some fabulous soaps and lotions. One of their soaps was called "White Rabbit" and I was instantly drawn to it for the cute bunny picture on the label. The fresh faced young woman selling it enthusiastically told me it was "an aphrodiastic, with all those really sexual herbs!" I tried not to giggle. You know, I'm just a freakin' Victorian prude at heart.

Interestingly, they also had a soap entitled "Cleanse Me With Hyssop". I found this very interesting as it is an old Southern folk magic custom to take a bath in Hyssop to get rid of a jinx or for spiritual cleansing. Some of the other stuff they sold also had some hoodoo references.

I really wanted to ask about this, but didn't know how to bring it up. "So, uh, do you guys make like a Hot Foot soap, too? Like see, my friend has this landlord she wants to get rid off...."

**********************

Bruce and I went to Loew's today to take a class in laying ceramic tile. I think I'm up for this. It didn't seem half as formidable as I had made it out to be.

Afterward we were cruising around the store and found some little refrigerators on sale. Bruce is looking for a little refridgerator. UAH just gave him a bigger lab space and he wanted a fridge for it.

We found one that seemed the right size.

"It's only $87!" crowed Bruce.

I looked closer at the tag. "Yeah, marked down from $88!! They marked it down ONE FREAKING DOLLAR!!"


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!