Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:55 a.m. - 2003-08-22
Too much to do today..
Blah. Today I had this lovely day planned. Since I worked my rear end off before we went on vacation, and since the vacation was wonderful but also really stressful (did I mention our muffler fell off somewhere in Pennsylvania? It would have been a tragedy except the Goodyear repair place happened to be located right next to a restaurant that had a gigantic display case full off chocolate pastries.) and since I have been running around like a mad person since we got back because Wendy did a "Meet The Artist" night last night which I had to get ready for, (can you say "run on sentence"?) and so today I had planned to just relax all day and do goofy things.

Goofy things that I never let myself have time to do, like make catnip toys for the cats (the catnip harvest is in!), or mend all my aging clothes, or just draw. I love drawing, and I never seem to have time to do it any more. It was going to be a blissful day of sleeping late, and wandering whereever my restless brain took me.

Ah, the best laid plans of mice and fruitbats!! I did sleep late, and had a rather remarkable dream about our side yard being infested by wallabies. I woke up to find Burma sitting on the window sill above my head, all stretched out, staring at me. For a confused second I thought she was a panther, until she went into her morning meeping routine.

From there it was all over. The minute I felt fully awake I realised there was no possible way I could let myself relax today. I have too much to do!! Even now, as I'm eating breakfast, my brain is speeding along to all those things that must be done today!! God forbid they wait even 24 hours!!

Things like:

1. Pruning the holly bushes out front. They went out of control while we were on vacation. I also have to pull all the weeds out from between them, which will be a joy since the holly bushes are planted close together and their leaves have sharp points on them, making it nearly impossible to pull weeds without getting maimed. Seriously, I'll have to wear safety glasses.

2. Repotting several humongous houseplants which have been languishing all summer. I'm not looking forward to this, it means wrestling around with some very heavy clay pots and some totally unruly plants. I have a 20 foot long Passiflora caerulea and some 6 foot tall Hawaiian White Ginger. 'Nuff said.

3. Gathering up all of our fast-getting-overripe figs and doing something with them. We came home to find Figgy totally out of control and spewing figs all over the place. There are so many figs even our healthy bird population can't take care of them. They are falling all over the ground, forming a squishy layer that is very unpleasant to bare feet. I'm hoping to unlock the secrets of fig preserves today.

4. General weeding. It's all a mess. Not only is the regular jungle thriving, but all the areas we had cleared out are starting to come up weedy again. Sigh.

5. There's some house stuff I need to do. Curtains for the living room. A cover for the sofa. Vacuuming. Sorting out all the debris on the kitchen table.

6. The animals need me!! They haven't really seen me for two and a half weeks, and they are letting me know in no uncertain terms what a rotten, neglectful caretaker I am. There are cats to be snuggled and rabbits to feed pineapple to.

Oh wait, this isn't really "work" is it? Well, maybe my day will have a tiny realaxing element to it after all!

7. I need to set up a Diaryland site for Bruce's old college buddies. They've decided they want to keep a communal diary, so I offered to set it up for them. I'm kind of excited about it. Bruce and I decided to spring for the gold option so everyone can post pictures of kids and vacations and protest marches.

8. And I need to email my cousin John with some geneology stuff I uncovered during the trip North. I went to the Boston Public Library and looked up the 1920 and 1930 census, and found out some interesting things about my father's family. Did you know that one of the questions on the 1930 census was "Do you have a radio?" Yes, my dad's family had a radio. I'm sure John will be thrilled to hear this.

9. I have to write something funny on Diaryland. Uh, sorry folks, I think that's not going to happen today!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!