Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:59 p.m. - 2003-08-01
First Anniversary
This is what's happening in our first attempts at gardening this land:

Mmmmmmm, check it out! That little red thing is a Roma tomato, not quite ripe, but it fell off the vine so I'll finish it up on the windowsill. The big 'un is...hmmm...I think it's a Beefsteak. And the fig is the first ripe one that I could reach from our fig tree! Yeah, first fig! There are a few other ripe ones nearer the top, but we'll let the birds have them. I just can't reach that high!

Donna, this is the Brown Turkey fig your Dad wants to send you! Take him up on it - they are like Heaven on a plate!

I think this fig is bigger than the ones we had last year. I gave the tree some "organic fertiliser" (read: composted bunny poop) in February and I think it hit the spot. I also don't remember us getting any ripe figs until later in August, so I guess Figgie (as we affectionately call the fig tree) is happy.

Another first: today I saw the first hummingbird of the season. A little female rufous hummingbird. She was buzzing around our black-and-blue salvia (That's the non-black eyed Susan in the photo.) I thought at first she was a huge dragonfly, as we've been having these insane neon green dragonflies.

Did you know they call dragonflies "mosquito hawks" in Florida?

Hey, don't mind me. I'm just rambling.

************************

Bruce had to remind me that yesterday was the anniversary of our closing date on the house. How could I have forgotten such a blissful event? Especially since I peg all the natural events of the land to whether they happened pre- or post-closing.

Yup, last year at this time I was blissfully painting our guestroom grass green and slogging over box after box of priceless personal junk. And wandering around with a googly smile on my face murmuring "our house....our very own house....no more landlords....sigh....drool...."

We celebrated with Mexican food and then went to Pier I, which is sadly as close as we get to a cool home furnishings store. Sigh. How I long for this trip to Boston, although I've promised myself I won't blow a wad of cash. Anyway, we did manage to find a very cool lantern-type shade for the hall light. A little present for the house on its first anniversary with us.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!