Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:25 p.m. - 2003-07-31
Oh so terribly Booooring....
Sam Phillips is dead. Talk about the end of an era. It's strange how I can get really sad about a person I never knew, but there it is. I do feel very sad, and I'm sending a little thank you out to the stars for all the great music he's responsible for bringing into my life.

And I'm playing a Muddy Waters/Howlin' Wolf CD right now.

************************************

You know, I'm just too freakin' boring lately! It's this heat - literally 95 degrees and 98% humidity. It saps my brain. I am so looking forward to this trip up North so I can experience some milder weather. I'm looking forward to the possibility that I might actually be cold!!

So maybe after I get back I'll have some more exciting entries.

But of course, I'm not promising anything.

*****************************

I've been having weird "art dreams" lately. Last night I dreamed I was at my old school, Massachusetts College of Art, and they had moved to a building that looked like it was next to a quarry. I couldn't figure out how to get in and also I wanted to make a donation in honour of my favorite teacher and I couldn't figure out how to do that either. I woke up and realised that my favorite teacher was my English professor, Bouloukas. So strange, because I had a number of good studio professors. But Bouloukas was sort of old fashioned and also quite thought provoking at times, and I guess that spoke to me.

Or maybe I just liked writing more than I realised.

*********************

Loki gave me a scare last night. I walked into the studio to find him covered with green!

He had been eating some really juicy broccoli, and I guess the juice just went everywhere. Miss Bunny was trying to groom it off him, bu tinstead just managed to spread it around even more. He looked like a furry leprechaun, or maybe some elfish punk kid.

It gave me a thought. I could actually dye him with orange food colouring for Halloween! Then he'd be a black and orange Halloween bunny! I could take him Trick or Treating for carrots!

I'm a little hesitant about doing this, because once when I was making cookies I dabbed a tiny bit of food colouring on Athena. Just a tiny touch of pink on her head. It was adorable, with her spotless white fur.

It wasn't quite so adorable when the next day she came down with a minor health problem and I had to take her to the vet. I can't even remember what the problem was, but I'll never forget the look on Dr. J's face when she saw the pink spot. She stared for a minute, and then shrieked with laughter. "I don't know what kind of medical condition causes a cat to turn pink!", she howled.

She still ribs me about this.

Alvin, on the other hand, would probably not be phased by a black and orange bunny. In fact, I'd be willing ot bet that at some point in his life Alvin has wanted to dye one of his pets. Like, say his new puppy, who has been known to use down comforters as chew toys.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!