Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:51 p.m. - 2003-07-25
Listy Lists
Thank you for all the sympathy I recieved after my last ravin' entry. My ear has stopped bleeding but still feels sort of weird. Bruce and I were talking about the lack of decent doctors here (he's not crazy about the one he sees) and I realised my animals have better medical care than we do!!

I wonder if I could get Alvin to look at my ears?! I mean, with being a rabbit vet he must have seen a lot of interesting ear problems. I wonder what he would say if I walked in as a patient instead of a patient caretaker!

Speaking of Alvin, I came across a photo of Mirage from a year ago after she had her second surgery. She looks terrible, with her cheek shaved and stitches - she looks like a furry Frankenstein. Frankenbunny! In the picture she's begging for treats. It would be cute if all those stitches weren't so disturbing.

*****************************************

I just don't know what to write about lately. Life just seems pretty uninteresting on the writing front. How about some listy-lists?!!

List #1: 10 things I'd do if I were rich:

1. I'd make several dear old friends very happy. But I'd also have the pleasure of telling certain people whom I'm sure would suck up to me for the money to bugger off.

2. I'd fund a spay/neuter project, something like "Maddie's Big Fix" (which is for the pets of Medicaid patients to get spayed for $10) except for feral cats.

3. And I'd fund education programs for people adopting rabbits. Hey, stop groaning! You knew I'd do something for animals, right?

4. I'd fund some sort of elementary school tutoring project, so elementary school kids with learning problems could get help before they turn into illiterate high school students, and from there become the illiterate college students who distress my husband on a daily basis.

5. I'd fund a renovation project for ghetto houses, so people could get their houses fixed for free. I'm continually amazed at the beautiful run down houses I see in some bad neighborhoods and I always wonder if those houses were fixed up would the people who live in them have more faith in life? Would they feel like someone cared about them and they could be proud of their neighborhood,, etc, etc? I'm thinking mostly of Birmingham where the most beautiful Arts and Crafts houses are in a really lousy neighborhood, but in Memphis it seems like this, too. And New Orleans.

6. Ok, I'd be selfish, too. I'd buy a Mini Cooper.

7. And I'd remodel my kitchen.

8. Oh, and I'd hire a gardener. And I'd hire Donna a gardener, too.

9. What the hell! I'd hire all my friends a gardener! Except Seth, who I think doesn't have a real yard space. I'd probably get him a really humongous computer instead. Or I'd pay his daughter's tuition at Rutgers.

10. And I'd buy Bruce a brand new truck! And a big piece of undeveloped waterfront property, so he could spend all his time playing with the fishies!

List #2: All The Songs I Want Played At My Funeral:

(not necessarily even my most favorite songs, but ones that had meaning for me at some special time in my life)

1. "New River Head" -- The Bevis Frond

2. "Pearly Dew Drops Drop" -- Cocteau Twins

3. "Nowadays Clancy Can't Even Sing" -- Buffalo Springfield

4. "Spanish Bombs" -- The Clash

5. "Jump Baby Jump" -- Pentangle

6. "Peking Spring" or maybe "Academy Fight Song" -- Mission of Burma

7. "Mannish Boy" -- Muddy Waters. Oh, I want "Death Letter Blues" from Son House, too...

8. "Walk on Gilded Splinters" -- Dr. John. Oh heck, the whole "Gris Gris" album, which I love.

9. "Things We Used To Know" - Jethro Tull. "The bad old days, they came and went, Giving way to fruitful years" indeed.

10. "Halloween" -- Siouxsie (yeah, it's my birthday song...)

11. "See Emily Play" - Pink Floyd

12. "Time of No Reply" -- Nick Drake

13. "Gun Street Girl" -- Tom Waits. Oh, ok, the whole album on this one, too. I mean, it's my funeral fer chrissakes!!

14. "The North Star Grassman and The Ravens" -- Sandy Denny (another big birthday song...)

15. "Waterloo Sunset" -- The Kinks. My most favorite song of all time, since I was a very little girl.

16. "Ferry Cross The Mersey" - Gary and the Pacemakers

17. "Into The Mystic" - Van Morrison

18."Frenzy" -- Screamin' Jay Hawkins. What would my funeral be without Screamin' Jay?

19. "Song for the Sun" -- The Swans

20. "Cinnamon Girl" -- Neil Young

21. "Tam Lin" -- Fairport Convention

22. "In The Afterlife" -- Squirrel Nut Zippers

23. "Mendocino" -- Sir DOuglas Quintet. This is the very first song I remember being crazy about when I was a tiny little girl! That, and "Pinball Wizard" by the Who!!

24. "Lavender Girl" -- Jarboe

25."Don't Send Me No Flowers, I Ain't Dead Yet" -- The Breakers. Not for the obvious reason, but because Bruce always sings it to me when he's in a funny mood!

And lastly, and most appropriately: "When We Are Dust" -- Fleetwood Mac

Yes! It will quite an interesting funeral! Especially because I want my ashes put in Trick or Treat bags and handed out to the attendees! With lots of Baby Ruth candy bars!! Ahem. Well, hopefully this list won't be needed any time soon!

List #3: My 10 Favorite Places In The Entire World:

1. Ave Maria Grotto, Cullman, Alabama

2. Chinatown, New York City

3. The Pharmacy Museum, New Orleans

4. The Old Church, Delft, Holland

5. Bradford Upon Avon, England

6. The Mont Vernon Cemetary, Mont Vernon, NH (especially the dog stone - remember, Donna?!)

7. The Kangamangus Highway, New Hampshire

8. Pere LaChaise Cemetary, Paris

9. The Arnold Arboretum, Boston

10. Bread and Puppet Museum, Glover, Vermont

Enough! Enough already!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!