Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:52 p.m. - 2003-07-19
Bruce versus Canned Cat Food
Bruce and I just had a real classic Bruce/Ruth interaction.

He offered to feed the cats, and I reminded him that Zesto needs medication because he had his teeth cleaned this week (which prompted everyone in our vet's office to start telling Tazmanian Devil jokes, but that's another whole story.)

So Bruce gave me this very hesitant, "I'm not capable of domestic actions involving pills for small mammals" sort of look and said: "Uhhhhhhhhhh.......wellll.....you might have to deal with this then."

Resisting the urge to point out that he does, in fact, have a Ph.D. which, does, in fact, qualify him to be able to figure out small mammal medication, I started explaining the very simple process of opening up a capsule, dumping it into a small amount of cat food, and feeding it to a ravenous cat. I used very simple words, and plenty of hand gestures.

By the time I finished, he was in hysterics.

"And should I feed the other cats, too?" he asked in a really goofy, "I'm retarded" voice.

"Noooooooooooo! You should not feed them and see how long it takes to start a cat riot!!"

And then the piece de resistance. He wandered into the kitchen and mumbled "So...where's the canned cat food?"

We've been living in this house for a year now, and he doesn't know where the canned cat food is!! Ay yi yi! Uh... it would be in the can cupboard!! With all the other cans!!

(Bruce wishes to defend himself here. He says: "Of course, we rarely feed canned food to the cats so it's outside my daily reality.")


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!