Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:35 p.m. - 2003-07-18
My favorite Sapola
Warning: Sappy Entry Ahead!

Bruce had to get up at three o'clock this morning.

He got a consulting job for a study of mussels around lake Guntersville, and the river divers he's working with wanted to try and do the whole thing in a day. In order to do that they had to meet at five o'clock this morning. Which meant that Bruce had to be up by three in order to leave by four and drive the hour to the site.

When the alarm went off, he lay in bed for a few minutes, and then quiety took a shower and went downstairs to eat breakfast. At four, I came out of a light sleep to find him giving me a hug.

It was hard to keep my eyes open. I think you all know I'm not a morning person.

So while he was hugging me and telling me he loved me and he'd miss me during the day, I was half snoozing and just sort of mumbling "Uh huh. Yup." Now I feel like kind of a jerk. Any guy who can be that much of a romantic sapola at 4 a.m. deserves my full attention.

Sorry, Honey...

**********************

And when I called him at three this afternoon, you know what he told me the river divers had found? Along with a lot of mussels they had found a rifle. A rifle!! Wow! Perhaps it was used to commit a heinous crime! They had just finished turning it over to the police!

*********

I had this really funny talk with Wendy today. I love talking on the phone with Wendy because she has her cell phone glued to her ear while she's doing anything in the world from vacuuming to adjusting the lights in the gallery, so along with her happy chatter there are all sorts of background sound effects. It's always a challenge to figure out what the "Groooooooobubububububuhuhuuhuh" noises are.

Today there were all sorts of traffic noises, and then, in the middle of a sentence, she stopped and said, very quietly and clearly, "Motherfucker!"

And then she kept talking like nothing had happened. "Is Wendy developing Tourette's Syndrome?" I thought.

So I asked her what had happened. She was driving and had pulled into her driveway and someone beeped at her. It made her mad as she had her blinker on, the other driver was just being pushy. I thought it was so cute, so matter of fact.

"Yeah, I swear like crazy," she sighed. "I'm going to be one of those crazy old women who swears like a soldier!"

After we hung up, I thought about how I'm looking forward to seeing what all my friends are like as old people. Most of my friends I've known for a long time, I remember them when they were in their twenties. Heck, I remember Donna as a teenager! I'm really looking forward, in a weird way, to seeing how we all turn out as old folks.

Yeah, like "Harold and Maude"! I want to be Maude!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!