Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:14 a.m. - 2003-07-10
Big Boom In Distance.
It's hotter than Hell here. Seriously, I have it on good authority that Hell runs at about 90 degrees, and here in Alabama it's been between 93 and 96. It's especially bad when you take the 98% humidity into account.

Yup, you know what they say. Hell: It's not the heat, it's the humidity. The same thing goes for Alabama.

The cats spend their days all melted on the sofa.

It's been good for the herb crop, though, and the bunnies wake up every day to a smorgasbord of basil, sage, oregano and various mints. As well as kale, raddichio, carrots, and swiss chard.

And for us peoples? We have some super humongous tomatoes on the way. Seriously. Huge. Tomatoes. They look like they've been irradiated.

****************************************

We were woken up this morning at 5:30 by the fine folks at Redstone Arsenal doing whatever the hell they feel like doing at 5:30 in the morning that involves loud noises. I think there are rules about construction workers not being able to start banging around till 7 am. Shouldn't the army have the same guidelines? Evidently not!!

I was furious. So furious I was raving even as Bruce was trying to give me a good morning kiss.

"Big boom in distance make Little Bat mad!" he snickered. "Let the hissing begin!"

Hissing indeed. "They're just practicing blowing things up so they can go get more oil for Dubya! They don't give a damn that some people actually need to sleep!"

That wasn't all I said, but I'll spare you the rest. It was pretty juicey and involved a long rave that ended with references to George Orwell's "1984". Meanwhile, Burma, unnerved by the noises, curled up against my leg, her head on my knee.

And after that I managed to fall back to sleep. I had nightmares about more wars and destruction and how I should probably stock up on another case of cat food.

And as if to reinforce this, when I got up this morning the cats were all lined up at the door to the stairs, howling. "There's a war on, and our food dish is empty!" they yowled. "Feed us quick, before the bombs drop!"


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!