Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:01 p.m. - 2003-06-29
Cardinals and Shameless Hype
To the person who has visited this diary several times in the last few days whose server I.D. ends in "covad.net": Welcome Earthling!! Uh....aren't you bored yet?

In other news: If you'd all like to see yet more shameless hype about the love of my life, go here. Ain't that Sipsey Wilderness beautiful, by the way? Don'tcha all want to come visit so you can go swimming there?

*************************************

I saw a really cute little thing today. Bruce and I succumbed to the temptation to go to Bennett's, a nursery near here that is a) open on Sundays and b) gives away free ice cold soda which is very important when you are wandering around in the 100 degree heat of an Alabama summer.

Bruce pulled a muscle yesterday when he was wrestling with the jungle backyard, so while he sat and rested and drank free Cokes in their wisteria arbor (I must train our evil wisteria to one of these someday. It's a great use for a grows-eight-feet-in-three-days kinda' plant) I wandered through the greenhouses, humming happily to myself and talking to the plants. I was chatting with a David Austin "Falstaff" rose when I noticed that there was a sign in front of the huge, standardised "Golden Showers" rose a few plants down.

"Not For Sale At Present Time", informed the sign. "Cardinal Nesting Within".

Huh? I looked closer. Sure enough, where the branches came out from the standard trunk there was a rather large nest. And on the nest was a rather nervous looking Momma cardinal.

She was obviously avoiding eye contact. I'm sure she figured if she ignored me I would probably go away. I'll have to go back after the babies hatch. Baby cardinals! Now that would be dang cute!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!