Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:21 a.m. - 2003-06-27
Ooh, it's a happy day.
"Do you realise that dung beetles in the Panamanian rain forest get to howler monkey flop 15 seconds after it hits the ground?"

"What, honey?" I'm half asleep. Bruce is reading a scientific journal and slurping down his coffee.

"Yeah, it's an insanely precious commodity for local dung beetles!!"

Uh oh. It's gonna' be one of them there scientific sort of mornings. He's hopped up on coffee and he's got a copy of Science in his hand. I'll be hearing about howler monkey flop for the rest of the day.

It could be worse. I mean, he could be a garage mechanic and I could have to hear about fuel injection systems.

*********************************

So I'm definately feeling better than yesterday. I feel a lot better than yesterday! Yah, Reasons to be Cheerful!!

Reason #1: I am not a howler monkey with masses of dung beetles following me around trying to get first dibs on my poop.

Reason #2: I saw our resident fox yesterday. Burma was going crazy at the window, and when I looked out I could just see his face through the jungle. Even though I know he's probably destroying our baby rabbit and chipmunk population, I still get this insane thrill whenever I see him. We live in the suburbs! Yet we have a fox! How cool is that?!

Reason #3: Miss Bunny went for an entire day yesterday with no medication!! For the first time in two and a half years. I keep staring at her to see if anything weird happens, but so far her eyeball has not fallen out and her cheek is not the size of a ping pong ball, so she must be ok.

Reason #4: The Hershey Cocoa company is now making Cocoa Mulch! Yes, they are now packing up and selling the husks of cacao beans for use in gardens. They particularly recommend it for rose bushes. And as they trumpet on their web site, not only is it organic, but it SMELLS LIKE CHOCOLATE!!

Man, I gotta get this stuff! There's a distributor in Nashville! What better excuse to head on up to the Music City?

Reason #5: Oooh, this is the best reason. I got an envelope in the mail from Wendy yesterday and in it was a clipping from the Birmingham News, a review of a show at the gallery a month or so ago. In passing the reviewer, mentions a few people other than the main artists, and I'm one of those who got a passing line.

He says: "Ruth Fledermas's puppet dolls are delightfully stitiched characters that bring a smile to the face of anyone who has ever loved a toy."

YAH!! So what if he mispelled my name!! So what if they are pOppet dolls, not pUppet dolls!! Yah! I still have a swollen head! I ROCK!!! Yah!!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!