Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:34 p.m. - 2003-06-19
My boring self.
Back from Prague. But not for long, heh, heh. I will torture you all tomorrow with some more fuzzy, grainy photos and travel memoirs of things that really can't possibly still be in Prague anymore.

I bet Tater is massively sorry she asked for this!

Anyway, I don't even know why I'm updating today. Force of habit I guess. The week has been pretty uneventful. I've been working on a pair of slippers for a wearable art show I'm in next month and they are coming out somewhat ok, considering I have never in my life made a pair of slippers before.

The uppers are the sort of standard abstract flowers I embroider when I feel too uncreative to actually come up with something original. The soles (downers?) are velvet on top of layers of batting on top of cardboard from a cereal box on top of more batting on top of some thick fabric from India. And they smell like contact cement, because that's what the instructions said to glue them together with.

I don't know about you, but the idea of padding around in slippers that smell like contact cement doesn't really thrill me. Which is unfortunate because I am anticipating that they won't sell, and padding around in them is exactly what I'm going to wind up doing.

**********************************

I'm going to see an exhibit of Picasso's ceramics tonight at the Huntspatch Museum. Every once in a great while, when they aren't having a big Norman Rockwell exhibit they actually have something decent.

I'm not a big Picasso fan, but his ceramics are very interesting to me. Yeah, go check them out - they are much more...I don't know, I want to say they are more human than the rest of his work but that sounds sort of insulting, doesn't it?

**********************************

Okey Dokey Loki! I am just going to take my boring self off before I am accused of making you all fall asleep.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!