Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:30 a.m. - 2003-06-11
Poppies and UFO'S!
In our never ending attempt to save money and perhaps, someday in 30 years, pay off Bruce's humongous student loan debt, Bruce and I went to Big Lots last night. We had heard marvelous things about how cheap they sold food there, but sadly, we were disappointed to find they were not even as cheap as Kroger.

We did, however, find a few goodies that made it worth the trip. The first thing was a very small, retro looking birdbath with two little birds sitting at the edge of a scallop shell. It's robin's egg blue, and cost $5.99. It's exactly what I've been looking for as a small chipmunk and baby rabbit watering station.

The second thing we found just knocked my socks off. It's the perfect housewarming present for Donna! And maybe Seth, too, if he were warming a house! It's the amazing....

UFO SPONGES!!!

Yah!! I bet you didn't know the aliens were making sponge deliveries!! And according to the package back, they also make heavy duty scrubbers and steel wool soap pads, too!!

Strangely, the address listed for the UFO company is in Los Angeles. I guess aliens are among us, after all!! You watch out for them California liens, eh, Donna??

*****************************

I achieved yet another childhood dream this week. I have managed to grow a Flanders poppy.

When I was a child, I had to memorize the poem "In Flanders Field" for a Memorial Day presentation. You know the poem, right? "In Flanders Field the poppies grow, between the crosses row on row..."?

You don't know this poem? Well, obviously you didn't go to school in a repressive, backwards small town in New Hampshire where they forced small children to memorize truly depressing poetry about dead World War II soldiers.

Anyway, while the poem is depressing, it has strangely become one of my most favorite pieces of verse. It's about the Flanders Fields, where many soldiers are buried, and the poppies that grow between their gravestones, and about how people shouldn't forget what those soldiers died for.

It's totally sad and morose. What more could I want in a poem?

And since I was a child, I have wanted to see those poppies. The fact that veterans used to sell little paper poppies on Veteran's Day to raise money (surely you remember those?!!) only spurred me on. It's one of my plant fantasies - right up there with seeing the tulips at that huge tulip center in Holland which begins with "K" but which I am sadly unable to spell.

I don't know if I'll get to Flanders Fields anytime soon. However, after years of searching, I was able this past year to actually find the species of poppy which is grown at the fields!! And, what's more, I have gotten seeds for it!! And I planted them!! And here, for your viewing pleasure, is a REAL FLANDERS POPPY!!!!!

Yeah, I know, I get a kick out of strange things....


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!