Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:28 a.m. - 2003-06-05
Emergency Beer Supply
For a few weeks now, I've been noticing that there's a six pack of Killian's Irish Red on the floor of our pantry.

It's been puzzling me, since it isn't Bruce's usual brand of brew. That would be Sam Adams, out of loyalty to Ol' Boston, or Yuengling, a favorite from his youth. Or perhaps, if he's feeling flush, something hefty from Scotland. But Killian's? It's very odd.

And it doesn't seem to be disappearing, so Bruce is obviously not drinking it.

This morning as I was cleaning it finally came to me. It must be Bruce's emergency beer stash!! One of the basic tenets of stocking up for an emergency is to get food items you like but wouldn't normally eat or drink very much, so you won't be tempted to scarf them down in a weak moment. Obviously Bruce likes Killian's, but it isn't his first choice of ale!! And, of course, the rule is to have a week's worth of supplies. With a little restraint, that six pack will just about slide in to the finish!

Yup, I have a week's worth of tomato sauce and kidney beans, and a week's worth of cat food and rabbit pellets. And Bruce? A week's worth of Killian's!!

How nice that he is finally taking this emergency planning seriously. I mean, you just never know when a tornado might rip through the local package store!! I better get an emergency bottle of Glenfiddich, too!!

*******************************************

Bruce is all heated up today, as this is the start of the Native Fishes Conference he's hosting. I'd say he's about three real deep breathes away from being in a total screeching lunacy. We'll be having two of the fish guys staying with us through the weekend, and I have offered my services at the registration table tonight and tomorrow morning.

Of course, I have also offered my services to Gabbie as her teaching assistant to the local flora class, so it should be interesting to see me split myself in half. FOrtunately the two events are in the same building, so I won't have to be faster than a speeding bullet trying to get from on to the other.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!