Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:55 a.m. - 2003-06-03
Weekend recap
So much has happened in the last few days I'm afraid if I write a big long entry about it, it will just sound like: "And THEN I did yap yap yap, and THEN Mr. Birfo said Blahde yar heebee, and THEN we went to this disgusting little pip pip pip and yab yab yab snore."

You don't want me to do that, do you?

So once again, I won't bore you with all the details, I'll just bore you with the major highlights:

Saturday: We went down to Birmingham to bring more dolls to Bare Hands and present Wendy with some hoodoo remedies to aid in the good fortune of the gallery. I'm selling dolls, folks! Not a thousand or anything like that, but enough that I seem to be making something that might eventually be considered a living. A living, that is, if I didn't have to pay the mortgage or eat on a regular basis.

Is it ok that I seem to be having success with DOLLS, of all things? And not like, fine craft type dolls, but little absurd raggy dolls? I mean, I'm not a famous painter. Or metal sculptor. These dolls are not going to get me into any Italian Bienielles (once again, spelling eludes me...) Is that ok? Can I die happy as a dollmaker? Will you all respect me anyway?

Saturday afternoon we were late to Gabbie and Jim's wedding!! Hey, two of my favorite people got married!! Yahoo!! Gabbie looked very sweet in her slightly 60's-ish wedding dress - quite a change from her usual jeans and T shirt. Jim had a stunning waistcoat under his tux and his grey braided hair was to his waist. His only sign of nerves was that his right leg shook the whole time he was reciting his vows.

We presented them with a tiny Paw Paw tree, since Gabbie was so excited by our Paw Paw patch. And a Home Depot gift certificate, since they just bought a house.

And ya know, if I were going to get married again, I'd put bubble blowing stuff on all the reception tables. That was a damn fine party favor!

***************************************

Sunday Bruce and I went to scout out some fish collecting sights over near Florence. We didn't find any good places, but we did see something really truly bizarre.

We were out on a total back road - we're talking not even on a map here, waaay the freak out in the backwoods of Alabamy, when something big and white caught my eye.

Up on a little bank, in the middle of a bunch of overgrown weeds, was a larger than lifesize monument of the four apostles.

Huh? It was a big sort of cube, with an apostle on each side, and it had obviously been there for decades. Made of some kind of concrete, it had been painted at some point, and the paint was curling and flaking. There were large cracks running through, some had been patched, others were providing a home for insects.

There was a little decrepit pathway leading up the bank to the sculpture, littered with candy wrappers and a dead fox. No indication, though, of who put it there. It certainly wasn't being taken care of.

I left a little blue stone I had in the car as an offering to the spirits of the place. There was definately some weird energy there. It was, hands down, the weirdest thing I have ever seen in Alabama.

Well, I haven't seen the Boll Weevil Monument, yet. That could top everything.

********************************************

On Monday I did something that was such a total milestone for me. It was a huge big event, and you're all going to laugh your pants off when I tell you what it is.

I drove all the way to Ave Maria Grotto by myself. And back!! It's an hour and a quarter trip, and I did it ALL BY MYSELF!!

You're all laughing, aren't you!! Well, please bear in mind that because of my epilepsy I have only returned to driving in the last couple of years, after about 15 years of not driving at all. And I have to be extremely careful of not getting tired and not getting into stressful driving situations that could trigger seizures, and basically it's a huge wah-wah that I'm driving at all!! So an hour and a quarter each way, plus meeting friends for a couple of hours in between, was a big deal.

And I did fine!! I only went into a panic once on the way back when I was in Cullman and it was raining and I made a wrong turn. So I pulled over and just waited out the storm, and called Bruce for advice on where I had gone astray. It was really ok!

Hooray!! I have vague fantasies of a road trip up North this fall to see the leaves!

And I had a great time meeting Wendy, Trudy and Lucy there, as well as Trudy's two kids, who were amazingly well behaved and generally made me want to have kids just like them. If I wanted to have kids that is.

When I get my photos back I'll do a whole entry on Ave Maria Grotto, because it's one of the folk art wonders of the world, and my favorite place in Alabama. And now I can drive there BY MYSELF!!!! AHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!