Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:43 p.m. - 2003-05-28
Accident
Ok, ya'll think I am too disaster oriented? Weeeeellllll, check THIS out!!

We came home from a peaceful Mexican restaurant dinner tonight to find our intersection full of literally a half dozen cars. Evidently a little old lady had pulled out of the intersection and another car had plowed into her, pushing her car onto our yard. Luckily her car missed both our chestnut and our pecan tree, or she would have been El Smooshola.

We managed to weave our way through all the cars and into our driveway, and went across the yard to check things out. Our neighbors were already there, holding tissues to the woman's bleeding head.

Tissues! Can you believe I am the only one of all our neighbors to have a first aid kit? I am just so dang proud of myself. So of course I went and got ours, and all the neighbor ladies were quite impressed, especially when I actually appeared to know how to use it! I had hydrogen peroxide, and some soap and water, so we were able to wash it out, and I actually had real gauze, so she didn't have tissue disintegrating into her wound (which fortunately wasn't very big.)

My only critique is that I need to get a regular washcloth instead of the half size one I have now. It just wasn't big enough.

I also need to get some latex gloves. When I was putting the kit together I just assumed I would be using it on either Bruce or myself, or the animals. It didn't dawn on me that I might be using it on a perfect stranger whose AIDS/hepatitis status is unknown to me. I'm assuming that since this lady appeared to be at least eighty years old and in pretty good health she probably has no diseases that I need to be concerned about.

And I was pouring hydrogen peroxide all over gauze pads, which probably helped kill any germs that landed on my hands. But you never know! Next time I could be administering first aid to a craven junkie!! Who knows who might land in my front yard!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!