Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:36 a.m. - 2003-05-15
Embryos and Goddesses
"Should I write about the mammalian embryo?" I asked Bruce this morning.

"Sure!" he said.

Do you believe in omens, folks? Well, how would you interpret this one?

Yesterday I was wandering around the yard, deadheading the roses and trying to figure out what part of the yard the baby bunnies are now hiding in, when I passed our garbage can. I noticed some ants on top of it, and a strange little lump.

It was a distressing little lump, and since this is the season when baby birds flop out of their nests, I immediately started planning a baby bird funeral. But then I looked closer. It wasn't a baby bird.

First of all, there was no bits of eggshell or fur on it. Second, it was a contained little sack with no head or feet sticking out. And it had the start of an umbilical cord coming out from the side. I looked around the ground next to it, and saw, once I brushed the ants away, a wormy looking pile of....intestines? or an umbilical cord?

At this point it just got too weird. Some animal had come along and had a miscarriage on the top of our garbage can and then thrown the umbilical cord on the ground?

HUH??

At least I am conveniently married to a biologist! When Bruce came home I sent him out to look at it. He came back in, shaking his head.

"Well, it is a mammalian embryo, but I'm not sure what kind. Something big, maybe a raccoon?"

"But why is a raccoon having a miscarriage on top of the garbage can?" I pointed out.

"I don't know. Maybe a bird got hold of it and dropped it there. Crows do things like that."

"It must be an omen! But what does it meeeeean?" I wailed.

We pondered this question for a few minutes, but didn't come to any conclusions. Bruce was sure it was nothing bad, but then, he's always sure it'll be nothing bad. Me? I'm just bamboozled.

From baby bunnies to baby embryos, this land presents some strange stuff.

***************************************

And speaking of strange, I had the weirdest dream last night.

I was with Venus and Amphitrite (the wife of Neptune) and we were all just hanging out, doing the things that goddesses do, when Venus got a call from one of the other gods. In the middle of this call a bunch of sheep started bleating really plaintively, and the goddesses became distressed.

"The sheep are wailing like banshees! It's going to be a disaster!" they cried. "We have to go inland!"

"But we are inland!" I pointed out. "And I need to go get my cats!!"

The goddesses ran around getting ready, packing up warm clothes and food for the trip. In the end they agreed to go back to New England to get the cats (and why were the cats in New England, I ask? They must have been having a super luxury vacation at Gramma and Grampa's house) and then they wanted to head to South Dakota and hide out there.

Any dream interpretators want to tackle this?


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!