Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:02 a.m. - 2003-05-05
More Plumbing!
Aah, it has been such an eventful morning! Woke up at 7 am to the ringing of the phone. It was the plumbing company calling to tell us the Mark Twain plumber was on his way.

Then came downstairs and turned on the radio to hear that tornados in Tennessee are headed our way, too! Well, maybe. Or maybe not! Who knows!!! Certainly not our illustrious weather people.

Just as we were puzzling out the tornado pseudo-alert, the plumber drove in. We explained how the water was coming out from the side of the garage and how it was a slab foundation and the leak could be anywhere and did he have a jackhammer with him because obviously he was going to have to tear up the entire floor of the whole house. And he just sort of stared at the ground for a minute and said, "Can you go turn the water back on at the meter? I just kind of want to look at this."

So we turned the water back on, and a few seconds later the water started bubbling up.

"That's not coming from under the house. That's coming from right here. I bet there's an old hose outlet that they capped off and buried, and it's sprung a leak."

So he dug down about 10 inches, and there was, in fact, a hose outlet that had sprung a leak. Five minutes later he had shut it off. End of problem. No jackhammers, no broken concrete, no endless days without water.

And he only charged us $65 for the basic service call instead of the $1000 I was expecting! So amazing. My life is never this simple!!

*************************

So after this fabulous experience I called my mother to ask her about the saga of my inheriting their house. It has now been decided that the house will be put into a trust in my name, with the stipulation that if my mom dies before my dad, he will have the right to live there as long as he wants.

"So what if I die?" I asked her. "Does the house go to Bruce or does it go back to Dad?"

"Oh, I think it goes to Bruce!" My mom seems flumoxed.

"Well, do you want it to go to Bruce, or do you want it to go to Dad?"

"Well, if it goes to Dad, it will eventually go to your sisters, and then (insert icky brother-in-law's name here) will wind up living here. I couldn't stand that! I'd rather it went to Bruce!"

Ok, Mom! Whatever you say!

She also told me that the Native Americans went to the Old Man of the Mountains yesterday and held ceremonies to honour his soul, and that they believed some great spirit of the mountain had been released. I thought that was so beautiful. I wish I could have been there.

*****************

Here's something groovy: A little article about the fabulous Dr. Bruce!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!