Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:27 a.m. - 2003-04-22
Burma and the plumber
Ok, I promise, no bunnies for at least a week!!

I have nothing to say this morning except that the yellow irises are blooming. And they aren't wimpy pale yellow irises, like I was afraid they might be. These are really egg yolk yellow irises.

It was a nice surprise, because I didn't pick out these irises myself, they came with the house. They were planted by the former owner a long, long time ago. The roots hadn't been divided in years and they were so played out they didn't bloom at all last year.

I wasn't expecting any blooms this year either, because I spent days last fall digging them all up and replanting them and giving bags of them away to anyone who would take them. I expected they would need at least a year to build up their energy. But no, they responded beautifully to new soil and not being crammed in on top of eachother, and we've had about 30 of them bloom.

It's great for a first year from very degraded roots.

What else? The plumber came yesterdy to fix a drip that had turned into an actual running faucet in our upstairs bathtub. It was the Mark Twain plumber that I like, except he had cut his hair. He still looked like Mark Twain though.

Here's a coincidence: I had called the place he worked when he did our hot water heater to see if I could get him to come out and they said he didn't work there any more. So I called another place and they said they would send a guy over. The guy they sent over? Why, my friend the Mark Twain plumber! He had switched jobs. It was a lucky coincidence.

Traumatic for Burma though. She curled up in the sink and glared at him the whole time he was fixing the faucets, which was sad because he liked cats. She didn't care, she was terrorised. She spent the rest of the day in the sink, too, and this morning she was hiding in the built-in shelves in the stairway.

She didn't come out until I started taking a shower, and then she came up and we had our usual conversation, though it sounded a little more desperate on her part. I think she was telling me all about how plumbers are evil and eat feral cats and I shouldn't let them into the house.

When I came downstairs, though, she was acting pretty normal, rubbing against the chair legs and rolling around on the floor. She's really getting quite tame.

A couple of nights ago she came up on the bed and played with my feet for about half an hour and then flopped down next to me and fell asleep. Bruce is halfway convinced that she is Kira reincarnated, because that's something Kira used to do. She has some other real Kira-esque traits, too. Hiding in the sink, for example. Kira loved sinks. And when I was looking at her last night I realised that she looks just like a photo I have of Kira as a teenager. It was a little eerie.

Hey, I said I wouldn't talk about bunnies! I didn't say anything about cats!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!