Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:40 p.m. - 2003-04-07
Dogwoods

Dogwood! Smooshed into my scanner!

This squashed bunch of flowers actually bears little resemblance to the white riot that is happening in my front yard. We have eight white dogwood trees, as well as one of the more elusive pink dogwoods, and they are blooming like crazy.

They're big dogwood trees, too. We think they were planted when the house was built, which would make them forty years old. Sigh. They are just gorgeous, especially around twilight.

Dontcha all just want to come visit? Well, what are you waiting for??!!!!

*******************************************

So today, when I wasn't gawking at the dogwoods, I was:

1. Wandering around, staring at the tulips and lunaria.

2. Digging up a small part of the woodland garden and trying to amend the soil with compost so that I could start:

3. Digging up the played out daffodils and daylilies next to the house and transplanting them into this better area.

4. Taking off my long-sleeved shirt because it's almost 80 degrees here.

5. Meeting our neighbor, Betty, who stopped to introduce herself and invite me to the Terrace Woods Women's Club Meeting. I have been invited to these meetings by at least six of the women in the neighborhood. The little old ladies are after me!!

6. Assuring Betty that I would surely come next month, if I could tear myself away from washing my hair and giving the rabbits tap dancing lessons.

7. Assuring Betty that we really were going to get the jungle under control someday, to which she replied that it already looked soooooo much better and *sniff* everyone in the neighborhood knew the "situation". (For those of you who haven't read the last 176 entries, our house was owned by a little old lady who was a fabulous gardener until she became an invalid, at which point the evil English Ivy took over. Her daughter was a horticulturalist but didn't really care about her mom's jungle. It will take three years to get this place in shape. End of digression.)

8. Watching the first butterfly of the season walf over the back porch and up into the hickory trees. Black Swallowtail!!! YEAH!!!

9. Transplanting some of the lunaria (also known as "money plant") to the area outside the house that is next to the inside area that in feng shui would govern our money situation. It can't hurt, right?! I also put some violets out there.

10. Wondering how much pollen is getting in my nose if I can actually see layers of it on the porch chairs. Wondering if that's why I can barely keep my eyes open and I have to keep blowing my nose.

11. Checking on the wahoo bush (budding up), the peach tree (sprouting leaves), the strawberries (budding. Not good - they need to be making leaves. I pulled the buds off), and the feral rose bush, which I pruned yesterday.

12. I haven't mentioned the feral rose bush? NOT a good subject. It's the one I thought might be the miniature "Fairy" rose. It's not, it's a honking big old fashioned rambler that is sending up shoots everywhere and has little tiny thorns that hurt worse than Burma's claws. I thought it was a miniature because it was overshadowed by the neighboring honeysuckle. I spent most of yesterday pruning. And pruning. And freakin' pruning!! Dang!! Talk about Extreme Gardening!! Don't touch that dwarf - hand me the flamethrower!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!