Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:45 p.m. - 2003-04-02
Rabbit Eye Surgery
I'm really wiped. We just got back from driving the bunnies down to the eye doctor in Bessemer. Yup, I have totally given up on ever being able to spell opthalmologist.

Driving hither and yon throughout the land is not the rabbit's idea of a helluva good time. Miss Bunny spent the drive down chewing up her towel, while Loki sat with his nose pressed up against the carrier door looking pathetic. And I forgot to bring any pineapple along to ease their pain, proving that I am, indeed,a sad excuse for a rabbit caretaker.

The news was basically good though. One of Loki's corneal ulcers has completely healed, the other is just a pinpoint. Miss Bunny's eye was less encouraging. Her ulcer had gotten a slight bit better, and blood vessels were starting to grow into it. However, the vet didn't think the healing was happening fast enough, and so she did a little procedure to stimulate new cell growth. It involved brushing off some dead cells and then putting a tissue adhesive onto the area so the new cells have something to attach to. It's probable that her healing is just slow because of all the nerve damage she's had as a result of the Pasturella infection.

But still, the eye doctor was encouraging. And considering all we've been through with her, this seems pretty minor.

She sulked all the way home. I'm sure a large dose of pineapple would have really cured her ills, but as I said I am just not fit to shepherd bunnies. Really I should be whipped with a wet noodle.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!