Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:13 a.m. - 2003-03-21
Rant About War

Yeah! Peacebunnies! The rabbits are so mad - none of this "Freedom Kissing" garbage for them!! They are ready to organise armies of rabbits and march on Washington! Herds of maurauding rabbits!! They're ready to bite some serious ankle!! No mercy!!

And me? Well, to be honest, my big, overwhelming emotion these days is of disgust. Pure, unmitigated disgust. Warning: Rant ahead. Serious total rant.

I'm disgusted, totally disgusted with Bush and his obvious lust for oil. I'm disgusted that he is so totally arrogant. I'm disgusted with all our "elected officials" who've supported his testosterone-driven mania (and after the pseudo-election that took place between Bush and Gore, I'm questioning whether we really elect anybody, or is it all a fix from the beginning?)

I'm disgusted with the fact that out of 535 "elected" officials in the house and Senate, only ONE of them has a child in the military!! How dare these people send other people's children off to war so cavalierly? Here's an idea for a peace protest - how about if every single person against the war sends Bush an email demanding that his daughters sign up for the military? How about the Marines?!! So character building! No more nights of drunken debauchery! I bet this war would be over real fast! I'm dead serious about this.

I'm disgusted with the American SUV-driving-studying-in-the-car-WITH-THE-ENGINE-RUNNING!! public. I'm disgusted with our spoiled brat mentality. Sacrifice for the sake of peace and less dependence on foreign oil? MOI??? Surely you jest!! Wouldn't it be so much better to kill a bunch of people that wear towels on their heads instead?!!!

I'm disgusted with the fact that NO EFFORT is being made to develop alternative energies that would decrease our dependence on oil!! This is what I'm really disgusted about!! Forgive me for using an ancient cliche, but if we can put a man on the moon we can develop alternative energies!! DAMN IT!!

Oh, but that wouldn't make tons of money for people like Bush and his friends at Enron, would it?

Ok, I'll stop now. I'll wipe the froth off my mouth and put some tape over it. Some duct tape!!

************************************

Actually tater had a something on her journal that I've been trying to keep in mind. It's about trying to keep your thoughts in such a state that you aren't giving energy to the war machine. It's hard to explain - go see! You may have to click back an entry or two if I did the link wrong.

And I am still practicing my metta/lovingkindness meditation, where I try to love everyone in the world. Seriously, everyone. Even George Bush. It's very hard to love someone I think is a true asshole and homicidal maniac. If I can accomplish this I'll be an instant bodhisattva! Really, I just want to join the bunnies in their march on Washington! And so in a way I'm disgusted also with myself, because I'm just contributing to all the anger mentality that fuels this war, instead of living in a way that promotes alternatives. I guess that's what planting the strawberries was all about the other day, and all the other gardening I've been obsessed with. Trying to create some alternative in the only way I can.

As Donna would say, yap, yap, yap....

***********************************

The bizarre thing is, tomorrow morning at 6 a.m., Bruce and I are headed to Memphis to meet Helen. We have planned this trip for months, and it's too late to call it off now. So, while the troops are busy snatching up oil wells and everyone else is busy protesting, I'll be goofing around at Graceland. We may have access to a data port at the hotel which leads me to wonder - do I just keep making perky entries about the Jungle Room?


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!