Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:29 p.m. - 2003-03-17
More Ghastly Pink
Lest you all think I am a vaccuous idiot who cares more about the colour of my closets than about the state of the world and can't even spell "vaccuous" to boot, I offer you Christopher Allbritton's web site. I stumbled across it this morning, and found it pretty helpful in trying to untangle the scary stuff that has been going on. He's a former AP and New York Daily News reporter who has traveled in Iraq and has been trying to raise funds to go back as an independent reporter.

I especially liked his feelings and beliefs about reporting as an independent, and how the public needs unbiased reporting. I have a very healthy mistrust of the media and think half of what we are hearing about the war is directly from Bush's press office. I really believe the government realised at the end of the Viet Nam war that if you could control the media you could control the public's opinion. I feel that what we're hearing now, even the supposedly unbiased news, has been sanitised by the White House.

Not that I'm a conspiracy freak or anything. I just seem to remember, in my dim childhood memories, that the news coverage of Viet Nam was a hell of a lot less "Rah Rah! Kill 'Em All, Let God Sort "Em Out!!" than what I am hearing today.

End of today's little rant!!

**************************************************

And now, back to the Hobbstweedle closet problem!! After a night full of dreaming that Burma had a very tiny and cute little pistol and was trying to shoot Bruce, I went downstairs, took one look at the ghastly womb pink closet and wretched. It was evil. It was channeling nasty demonic things. That colour had to go.

The solution I came to was to put a whole lot more off-white in with the evil pink, which resulted in less of an "I'm going to eat you, and your little rabbits, too" sort of colour, and more of a "Lolita-Peppermint Ice Cream" colour. See - here they are:

Just ignore that fact that peppermint is misspelled. I just can't face going back into Adobe right now! It's still slightly too pink. But at least it doesn't make me want to crawl in the closet and suck my thumb while some hippie therapist tells me I must struggle to free myself from the womb.

****************************************************

And in other happy news, the woods are exploding with amazing plants, and I'm discovering more every day!

Two days ago I discovered a rose bush in the middle of all the hideous bush honeysuckle. It seems to be one of the larger miniature roses that has gone a little out of control. I'm hoping it's The Fairy, a miniature from the 1940's that's a favorite of mine. There are very few old miniatures that the former owners would have planted so there's a good chance it is.

The same day I also discovered a second quince bush, tons of crossvine (native plant!!), pink and blue hyacinths, mayapples (native plant!!) and forsythia. Really straggly forsythia, but forsythia nonetheless. And the daffodils, trilliums and pepperroot are all over the place. Carpets of pepperroot! Oooh, it's like fairyland! I wish I could transport you all here to see it. I really wish I had a digital camera, and then I could put endless photos of it on here and make you all drool. Here's a photo of the pepperroot that Bruce took last week:

Just imagine carpets of it! CARPETS!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!