Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:45 p.m. - 2003-03-14
Disembodied Garments
You know, every once in awhile when I'm feeling whiney, I do that goody-goody Pollyanna thing of counting my blessings and thinking how lucky I am. After reading this article about Arab women I feel really great about my life.

I mean, damn, I have a fabulous life. Somebody needs to dope-slap me!

*****************************************

I had some really strange dreams this morning. In one, I was the president of the Society for Prevention of Cruelty To Disembodied Garments. I am not kidding. The Society was trying to preserve Victorian clothing, I think. It may have been inspired by this website on strange old British customs. I do remember pulling some clothes out of a chimney and thinking something along the lines of "Oh dear, white vinegar will NEVER get these stains out!"

In another dream I was in a medieval British setting and was looking down on a moat that had aquatic rabbits living in it, as well as some very bawdy people. The rabbits were able to breathe underwater and swam around like otters. I was sure that Loki and Miss Bunny were in there, and I was throwing parsnips down for them to eat. The parsnips kept bouncing off the heads of the people who were swimming - and pissing! - in the water.

Huh? Now what was that about?!

**************************************

Went to the thrift store this morning! Hey ho, and a fine day for picture frames, which I bought three of for 99 cents each. I also bought a fabulous, although slightly small, sweater which has red and pink stripes. I look like a Dr. Suess character in it.

The frames are for some prints I have from an old Laotian book. They are stunning. Hey! I have a Gold membership! I could put one in here for you to see! Look!

This is my favorite one, but they all have this strange green character, or people in beautiful costumes being stared at by snakes, or eating what looks like a fancy birthday cake. If anyone is Laotian out there I would love to know the story behind them. For now I have just been making things up when people ask about them.

"Oh, that green guy? Well, see, he is the Laotian God of Methane Gas! You can tell that because of the wings on his legs. He's on his way to a party for the God of Disembodied Garments!"


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!